Chicken and Artichoke Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
my family plus my in-laws absolutely LOVE this soup! i have made it a number of times--with or without beans, i only had cream of spinach once and that even worked. . .we usually top it with parmesan and mozzarella cheese and serve with a side of fresh warm bread! yum-delish! we love it so much that it is in my dinner rotation over the autumn, winter and going into spring months! thank you so much sharing momomany!!!! update: we were craving this soup one evening but i didn't have quite enough chicken (about 2 cups), added 1 tube of jimmy dean's hot sausage. . .yum! family raved!!!! love it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Thurmond, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I loved this soup! I did make a lot of changes just due to my tastes. I used three quarts of broth due to adding a lot of ingredients first of all. I also omitted the corn (just thought that was odd for minestrone) and exchanged white wine for the sherry. I used fresh spinach and instead of regular mushrooms I added a package of pre-sliced baby portabellas. Finally I added a can of garbanzo beans and some extra seasonings of basil and oregano. This is a great base recipe and easy to change to suit your family. My husband loved it and both of us took the leftovers in our lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
On a whim, I made this recipe for a casual dinner party and it was really delicious. I think it was the artichoke that caught my eye, but I loved it because it's a hearty winter meal. I took someone's suggestion and added some white beans. I will make this again and again. Thank you! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was a great use of leftover chicken. I modified a bit based on what I had in my cupboard and went with canned mushrooms, artichokes, corn, frozen broccoli, and kidney beans. I didn't have any chopped tomatoes so I used a can of crushed and it was great. I had no orzo so I used rice. I kept the chili at 3/4 of a tsp and it was just right. This was a huge recipe. I think I may do it in the slow cooker next time if we are out and running around. Nice to come home to a hearty soup like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This looked like it would be one fantastic recipe, and it sure is! My husband and I will dip in tonight, and we're feeding this delightful concoction to 5 college kids tomorrow. Because there was fresh spinach and corn on hand, those were used instead of canned and frozen. I also doubled the orzo, knowing we were feeding all those boys. That little "soupcon" of sherry and those hot pepper flakes are lipsmackers. This recipe will be handed off to our two married daughters, and will be a "regular" in our house. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. To borrow from a commercial, this is "mmmmmm, mmmmmmm good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I made this soup for my husband and myself, it was way too much food but it lasted a long time in the fridge and my hubby keeps eating it - he says it's great! I like the idea of artichokes in this soup, a nice twist. Will definitely make it again some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
The soup is even better the second day or third day. I used the fresh spinach and left out about 2 cups of water from the chicken broth. Also added a can of black beans it added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Delicious and I like the heat that the red pepper flakes adds. I didn't change anything and wouldn't in the future. It makes a ton of soup but it should freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was amazing! I don't like spinach so I left it out and added green beans instead, and I also added an extra can of tomatoes because after one, the sauce didn't really have a tomatoey taste that I was looking for. It made enough to last 2 weeks, and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is very easy and good. Tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States