Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This meal was fantastic! I reduce the amount of curry to 1 1/2 teaspoons since this is my families least favorite spice. I made the entire meal ahead of time and froze it for a weeknight meal. It tasted great and was so easy to reheat. Next time I am going to double the sauce to freeze half for a future meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was sooooo good! I did make a couple minor changes though. (i had a hungry 4 year old and needed it to be done faster!) I first cut up the chicken breasts (4 of them) and sauted them in olive oil and then reserved them on a plate tented with tin foil. Then i cooked the onion and apple as said in the recipes and made the sauce and added the chicken at the very end to re-heat it. I topped it with some chopped cashews and it was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Montana, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Used this for my Christmas Turkey leftovers. I included cut up carrots and fresh diced green beans (good color). This was a very simple, easy recipe--and as it is such a contrast from our Christmas dinner, I think I will use it for our turkey leftovers each year. (Cooked on stove top)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Wow. Slightly sweet yet spicy (with my additions) and an absolutely great way to use leftover cooked chicken. I simply simmered the chicken pieces in the sauce, but I'd like to try baking it, too. I did add quite a bit more curry, also cumin and coriander as well as some generous shakes of hot pepper sauce. Using red onion in the curry and fresh cilantro as a garnish gave it plenty of color and I thought made for a nice presentation. Nice served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I really liked the base of this recipe, but like others it wasn't QUITE the flavor I look for in Indian food. We added about a 1/2 teaspoonful each of garam masala and cumin. I also might try it with applesauce... I don't know how that will go, but it was a pain to cut the apples so small AND keep them from oxidizing before I put them in with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Only half the family liked this. I thought it could use more curry. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I'm sure it doesn't taste the same, but since I have to cook gluten-free and casein-free for my autistic daughter (see my blog on the autism diet on this website), I replaced the butter with spray vegetable oil and replaced the milk with apple juice, since I was using apples anyway. To cover up all the fruity flavor I used a tomato flavored chicken boullion instead of the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mercyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Choccolocco, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very easy, and tasty. I did add some diced green peppers to the onions and apple. It added some color and contrast. My teenage daughter like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Excellent flavor, easy to make. I had to serve more people than I had chicken breasts, so I cut them up into bite-size pieces and sauteed them in the pan; then added the chicken to the curry mixture and simmered in the pan for about 20 minutes instead of baking. I served over rice that I cooked in chicken broth and added a bit of curry to. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States