Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The chicken was very moist and tender but it didnt have very much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LompocCook
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Even with doubling the amount of curry powder, using coconut milk instead of regular milk, and adding some garam masala, it just wasn't flavorful enough. It's not a bad dish at all, but it needs a little something and I haven't quite figured out what that is yet. My family wasn't really looking for the curry to be hot, just to have a deeper flavor and a stronger spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LompocCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I love this recipe and so easy! I decreased the amount of chicken to only 4 pieces, used boneless skinless thighs CUT UP instead of breasts (they are cheaper), doubled the amount of curry and served over steamed jasmine rice..yummy. By decreasing the amount of chicken it made it more saucy, which tasted great and soaked up the rice. This tasted like a recipe from a Thai or Indian restaurant! Great! You could also provide a little color by adding some chopped green onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
really good for how easy it was! my changes were: 2 chicken breasts, 1/2 of all other ingredients, 1 T. curry powder, about 1 T cornstarch. Cooked in a crock pot for 6 hours with minimal stirring. be sure the liquid covers chicken when starting in crock pot (I had to use 1 Cup coconut milk and 1/2 Cup broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
We enjoyed this. I added some powdered peanut butter and next time I think I'll use coconut milk and a handful of chopped raisins or maybe a little chutney. A very good basic recipe and the sauce was nice. I made the full recipe with only three cubed chicken breasts. Served with rice and green beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This just didn't do it for us. I think the apples didn't mesh well with the rest of it. It needed something else to it; pretty much just tasted like plain curry/bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Unfortunately, this one was a little bland. I did what another reviewer suggested and used coconut milk instead of milk (hoping it would add more flavor). I also added more curry, cubed the chicken and put it all together. Maybe I sauteed the apples too long - they became soft and flavorless. I need to try this again with some changes to add flavor b/c I love apples and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
SO GOOD. this dish was really simple to prepare, is healthy and tasted incredible. I of course did make some changes. I added probably about 2 Tbs of curry, some garam masala, garlic, and a bit more cayenne. I used only 2 chicken breasts that i cubed and added broccoli, bell pepper, carrots, and tomatoes. Instead of running the oven for an hour i put it in a pan on the stove for about 30 minutes on low. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
WOW! This was SO good. I used one can of coconut milk and one can of broth. I used 1 1/2 TBS of curry and could have definitely used more (I ran out). Used 6 breasts which we cut into bite-sized pieces. The proportion of chicken/sauce was just right. Served with mashed potatoes (b/c we had eaten rice the two nights before I served this) and it ROCKED! I will serve w/mashed again for sure. Served with broccoli on side. Wonderful easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was pretty good, per other reviewers, I added more curry powder than was originally called for. Which was a good move. I also put in some carrots and potatoes (What is curry without carrots and potatoes) The apples were pretty good, but think I put too many in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States