Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I thought the recipe was very good but felt it was missing a little something. I added and changed a few things the second time around and the recipe came out great. Instead of using 8 breasts, I cut up 2 in 1" cubes. I used granny smith apples and cut those into 1/2" cubes. I coated the cubed breasts with 1 tbs of corrander. I cooked everything in a large saute pot instead of baking . Then I replaced 1/2 a cup of the milk with coconut milk. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
this was sooo good...although I did change a few things. I cubed the chicken and added some diced vegetables, then poured the sauce over everything, so it was an complete meal when it was finished. Cooked much faster too. Also I cut the recipe in half but still used two apples and lots of curry, plus some garam masala. It came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! It's in my "heavy rotation" of recipes. The only thing I modify is the amount of curry powder. Being a HUGE curry fan, I usually come close to doubling it, but the sweetness of the apples REALLY adds a special kick to it! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Fantastic! The whole family, including picky kids, loved this recipe. I suggest doubling the sauce (butter, broth, flour, milk) as well as the curry, so that you can put it over rice. This one is a keeper. Good job, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by utroukx
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
found this recipe searching for something to do with apples and chicken. really nice. i substituted a cup of coconut milk for the cup of milk and i used 1-1/2 to 2 T of curry powder. i also kept the peel on the apples, which i think helped them stay together better. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utroukx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Very good but I made some changes. I used chicken tenders (which sped up the cooking time). I doubled the curry powder, used plain nonfat yogurt instead of milk, added a handful of craisins, and skipped the butter (using cooking spray instead). It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I love this recipe! I do like to add some color to it though with diced peppers (green, red, and orange). I also add garlic, always use tart Granny Smith apples, and if you like an extra kick, like we do, be very generous with the curry powder. Served over rice, this is an excellent, healthy meal! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANC239

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
That was AWESOME! Ok, I made a number of changes (haven't tried it yet without the changes), but I doubt my result varied much in quality from the original recipe. I didn't bake it; I just cooked it in a large saucepan. I cubed 3 small apples and diced two medium-sized onions and sauteed them in the butter with 2 tsp minced garlic (I didn't have any fresh garlic on hand). I cut two large chicken breasts into one-inch cubes and added them to the pan. Before the chicken sealed, I added 1 1/2 tbsp curry powder and about 1 tsp garam masala. Once the chicken was sealed, I added the broth, milk and then slowly sprinkled in the flour. Finally, I added about 1 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. I let it simmer for awhile, and it thickened a lot, so I added probably about another 1/2 cup of milk. I was also busy doing other things, so I just turned it down to low and let it simmer very lightly for about 1/2 hour or 45 minutes. I served it over basmati rice. This is definitely a keeper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This recipe was great and easy to make. I used cubed pork sirloin tenderloin instead of chicken. I would use 3-4 tbsp of curry powder next time as we really like the flavour - it's something you have to experiment with according to your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Reading the Ingredient list I knew that this recipe needed some more spices. Having said that Im still rating this a 4 bec the apples and curry played so well off eachother and I would have never thought of that. I added a teaspoon of coriander, garam masala, some cinnamon, a jalapeno and some red peppers. I cooked the chicken than added it to the sauce later. (All in a skillet) I did crave more of the apple taste so next time I will dice the apples larger and add one more or maybe add some apple juice. Also I think golden rasins would go nicely in this. Im so glad I tried this. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States