Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
That was AWESOME! Ok, I made a number of changes (haven't tried it yet without the changes), but I doubt my result varied much in quality from the original recipe. I didn't bake it; I just cooked it in a large saucepan. I cubed 3 small apples and diced two medium-sized onions and sauteed them in the butter with 2 tsp minced garlic (I didn't have any fresh garlic on hand). I cut two large chicken breasts into one-inch cubes and added them to the pan. Before the chicken sealed, I added 1 1/2 tbsp curry powder and about 1 tsp garam masala. Once the chicken was sealed, I added the broth, milk and then slowly sprinkled in the flour. Finally, I added about 1 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. I let it simmer for awhile, and it thickened a lot, so I added probably about another 1/2 cup of milk. I was also busy doing other things, so I just turned it down to low and let it simmer very lightly for about 1/2 hour or 45 minutes. I served it over basmati rice. This is definitely a keeper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Added coconut milk instead of milk. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Delish! I gave this one 5 stars because it was so easy, quick, and tasty. I didn't have any good curry powder on hand so I replaced it with 1 Tbsp of garam masala, plus a couple shakes of cinnamon & nutmeg. Also, instead of baking the chicken pieces whole in the sauce, I just cut up the raw chicken and added it to the saucepan right after the onions, and sauteed them together in the butter, adding the apples soon after. In other words, everything in one pot :-) I feel like the butter and most of the flour could be left out and it would be just as tasty, with only marginal change to the texture. I left everything in this time though, because I knew my sweetie would like it :-) We ate it with brown rice and a side of frozen peas. Four thumbs up! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lupusliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This tasted pretty good. Very bland though. Not really what I was hoping for, but over all good. I think with a little tweaking it could be really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Delicious and EASY. I used granny smith apples and whole wheat flour. I also used alot more curry seasoning (garam masala specifically) and seasoned the breasts with the curry, ginger, garlic and onion, as well as the salt and pepper. I also took another reviews advice and made a bit more of the sauce so there would be extra to go over basmati rice as well....highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smksmk00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I liked the apple in this. Good curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was a nice dish. I added crushed red pepper for some heat. We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Loved it. I doubled the amount of sauce, though. Next time I think I'll cube the chicken to make it easier to serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallorie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIGHTYFUNGI
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great and EASY recipe! The apples give the curry a unique kick to the flavor. Instead of the milk I switched it with coconut milk to give a thicker, creamer texture and flavor; used chicken tenderloins and cooked them a little before throwin into the curry sauce. I did not bake but cook on stove top and let everything bubble and fuse together like a stew. Delicious! Put together with black Asian wild rice and Naan! Mmm...Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIGHTYFUNGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Yummy. Made as a skillet. Cubed chicken and sauted with cumin then added to prepared sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States