Chicken and Apple Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe! I made it with only 2 chicken breast so I had alot of apple/onion sauce for my coconut rice I made with it! It was just enough curry to give the right bite. Another quick meal to put on my make again list. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very good dish! This was the first time I've cooked with curry and it will definitely be added to the rotation! I added some red pepper flakes and paprika for some extra flavor and a little bit of spice. I served it with rice. I put a chicken bullion cube in the water along with some cumin, brought it to a boil and then added white rice. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was ok, but I thought it was a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is one of my all time favourite recipes. I make it exactly as described but I usually add more apples and onion than the recipe calls for. They're the best part! I serve this with basmati rice and use some of the sauce to pour over the rice and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Because of a recent trip to a local orchard, I have an abundance of delicious apples. They are a part of every meal! :) I was already a fan of chicken curry, but this brought that love to a whole new level! Extremely easy, and extremely yummy! I pan-flashed the chicken first (outsides cooked, insides pink) and cubed it, and I also used 1/2 cup of coconut milk and 1/2 cup of milk instead of all plain milk. Wonderful! Will DEFINITELY use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My son started with "I don't like yellow chicken", but soon changed his mind. It was easy and delicious. I used bullion instead of broth and 3Tbsp Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by utroukx
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
found this recipe searching for something to do with apples and chicken. really nice. i substituted a cup of coconut milk for the cup of milk and i used 1-1/2 to 2 T of curry powder. i also kept the peel on the apples, which i think helped them stay together better. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utroukx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe is wonderful if you like a very mild curry flavor. I tripled the curry powder and added 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper to spice it up and then I loved it. The sweet offsets the spice and makes for a delightful combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I love curry, and had a very strange array of things in the house, so I gave this a whirl. I didn't have onion, so mine was onionless, and I only had about a tsp curry powder, which I think made it a little too sweet and bland. I would definitely use onion and more curry powder - it needs it! Also, I did mine entirely skillet-style, chopping 2 chicken breasts into chunks and sauteing it with the apple before adding the seasonings and liquid. And per others' suggestions, I did some other add-ins. I threw in about 1/2 c raisins, and instead of coconut milk (didn't have any), I tossed in about 1/2 c flaked coconut. It made it a very sweet curry - almost too much so. In the end, it was well-recieved, but not enough so that I will make it again soon, unless I am in a pinch again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My husband and I thought this recipe was very flavorful! To cut down on fat, I only used 1 Tbsp of butter and used skim milk...still tasted great. Also, I just used a can of chicken broth instead of measuring out a cup. This made for more liquid for the sauce. As another reviewer recommended, I cut the chicken into chunks (only used 4 chicken breasts) before cooking. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bandar Lampung, Lampung, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States