Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Malia81
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is the Filipino Adobo, so if you're looking for the Mexican/Latino version - this recipe isn't for you. I love Adobo and my friend's Lola (grandmother in Tagalog) makes the BEST kind! So luckily I had that flavor memory to go off of. This recipe yields a very vinegary Adobo when following the recipe exactly and takes longer to make than stated. I added an extra 1/4c soy sauce, 2t sugar and 1 clove garlic to the recipe. I let the chicken simmer, turning occasionally, for an additional two hours to soak up the new flavor of the sauce. I just made this last night and after the adjustments it tastes pretty close to what Lola makes. But the original recipe as it stands doesn't measure up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I will be making this tonight for the first time but to the person who made the above comment "In Filipino cuisine, Adobo refers to a common and very popular cooking process indigenous to the Philippines where pork or chicken is slowly cooked in soy sauce, vinegar, crushed garlic, bay leaf, and black peppercorns, and often browned in the oven or pan-fried afterward to get the desirable crisped edges. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The vinegar taste was way too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was a quick and fantastic recipe that I and my family of three guys enjoyed immensely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
The recipes as stated would be way to vinergary! There is an easier way of calculating the liquid ingredients. 2 parts water to 1 part vinegar and 1 part soy sauce. Also, nix the sugar (not needed) and you don't need to salt to taste because it will be salty enough from the soy sauce. Some use the low-sodium soy sauce because of this. I have been making Adobo for over 20 years now taught to me by my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I agree with the others here that the recipe will be too sour. I would recommend a 1:1 vinegar to soy sauce ratio - but you must experiment to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I agree with previous comments. Too much vinegar wil ruin the chicken. Othewise an authentic rendition of a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
way too much vinegar. also, dont include the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is the simplest adobo recipe I have seen. Found it a tad salty for my liking. Fixed it by adding some chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good easy recipe. My mom made a good chicken adobo but haven't been able to replicate it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States