Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It was good! My family was pleased. thanks for previous reviews I tweaked this recipe. I used rice vinegar instead and doubled the garlic since I love garlic. Also used chicken broth instead of water. Will definitely be making again I should've took a picture but we are it up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
It was not that bad, but next time I'll use 1/2 cup of vinegar. I added potatoes and carrots, so that helped reduce the sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I read the reviews and my stubbornness ignored them. They were right, it was way to vinegary. But it still alright but maye next time I would add 1/4 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Chicken adobo is the most common plate eaten in my house and my family just Loves it! This is definitely one of the more interesting versions I’ve tried! I think ill just stick to my family recipe because this one uses more vinegar than I would use. I am half white and half Filipino, so I know how this is supposed to taste. But my grandma makes this with a special recipe and I beg her to give me the recipe but she wont budge. You can really taste the bayleaf and soy sauce. Honestly my family just mixes ingredients together and goes by taste. I am usually the designated guinea pig. Haha. But this is an amazing dish if done right and make to serve with a bunch of jasmine white rice!! This is ultimately my favorite dish and whenever I go to my Lola’s house, she has it prepared and waiting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Very good! I took some tips from the reviews (More water, less vinegar) and watched the video. And I tweaked it a bit by giving the chicken a quick sear on the grill and by tripling the garlic, and using rice vinegar. Quite tasty! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I cut the amount of vinegar used by a 1/4 cup, but other than that this is a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jose v

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
this was my second time trying this recipe.. very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Try using rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. This will help with the bitter, vinegary taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a good basic recipe for Adobo. I don't know why people are panning it. My aunt (from Capiz, PI) always made it with plenty of vinegar. I use more garlic, and also add plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good recipes for adobo! Added to my permanent list. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States