Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I didn't use this recipe but I wanted to see what the ingredient list looked like. I am Filipino and this recipe calls for WAAAAAY too much vinegar! You don't need sugar because the onions will make it sweeter. Instead use a 2:1 ratio for the "sauce" 2 parts soy sauce, 1 part vinegar. You can also reduce it down a bit to make a more thicker sauce if you like. Adobo is one of my all time favourite Filipino foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Very good! I took some tips from the reviews (More water, less vinegar) and watched the video. And I tweaked it a bit by giving the chicken a quick sear on the grill and by tripling the garlic, and using rice vinegar. Quite tasty! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I cut the amount of vinegar used by a 1/4 cup, but other than that this is a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jose v

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
this was my second time trying this recipe.. very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Try using rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. This will help with the bitter, vinegary taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a good basic recipe for Adobo. I don't know why people are panning it. My aunt (from Capiz, PI) always made it with plenty of vinegar. I use more garlic, and also add plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good recipes for adobo! Added to my permanent list. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good easy recipe. My mom made a good chicken adobo but haven't been able to replicate it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is the simplest adobo recipe I have seen. Found it a tad salty for my liking. Fixed it by adding some chilli flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
way too much vinegar. also, dont include the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States