Chicken Adobo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
used 4 cloves crushed garlic. used half the vinegar called for and cooked chicken for about 35 minutes covered. cooked an additional 15-20 minutes or so uncovered to thicken the sauce a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Really easy and excellent! My sauce was a bit strong (I didn't really measure out the vinegar/soy sauce) so I added water and thickened the sauce with a mix of some more water and cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I really thought there would be more flavor to this dish, but it's almost like all the ingredients cancelled each other out. Maybe I needed to marinade it longer, but overall feel that the flavor could have been a bit stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I am always looking for chicken recipes and thought this one sounded interesting. I loved it. (I forgot bay leaves so that will be for next time). I served it over noodles and loved the sauce and the chicken. I used just skinless thighs - wasn't sure if it was supposed to be a skin-on or skin-off recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
amazing! My boyfriend is half asian and said he would love it if I could make chicken adobo for him. Well, I had no idea what it was until I found it here at allrecipes and chose this version. I was skeptical when I seen the word vinegar and thought to my self is he out of his mind. Thus my love prevailed and I made it. We ate it all up and wanted more so I am making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAANDJAKERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
loved this recipe. so did my filipino friend. said it ws just like his mom's and i can vouch for that cause i have had his mom's. although i recommend letting it marinade for a few hours prior to cooking, it gave it such flavor. and i added some garlic into it for the marinade as well. but very easy to make and very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I learned to love chicken adobo while in the Navy... and I loved this! I actually use a little more soy than vinegar and throw it all in a crock pot with a game hen, then pour it over steamed rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Fantastic! My chicken is fall off the bone delicious (I made this with legs and wing pieces, like my sister in law showed me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My quest for the perfect adobo recipe continues. This one came pretty close; using apple cider vinegar in place of white vinegar gave it a slight sweetness that I found appealing. I would add whole peppercorns next time, and a teaspoon of tomato paste is an option if you want to give it a tangy kick; otherwise, this was about as close to authentic as I've been able to find. Note: I actually substituted pork for the chicken, though either will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States