Chicken Adobo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
I've watched my Filipino friends countless times fix Chicken Adobo. This recipe is very good. I personally skin whole pieces of chicken and place them in a baking pan. Mix up the vinegar/soy sauce/juice of one lime/5 bay leaves/4 pods of minced garlic/ 1/3 cup of cooking oil and water.. like a marinade. Then pour this mixture over the chicken.. cover and bake. The chicken comes out VERY tender and full of flavor. The juices in the pan are used as a topping to hot jasmine rice. This is a one pan dish in our house and fixed at least 3 times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Fast, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I marinated the chicken first (for about 2 hrs) with the sauce (adding bay leaves and 1/2 tsp of brown sugar). Marinating makes a big difference in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This sounded good on paper... I took another reviewer's suggestion to add bay leaves and onion to the pot, but it didn't seem to make a difference - the vinegar flavor overpowered the entire dish. My boyfriend said he liked it, but I wasn't that impressed. I used 2 tsps. of salt rather than Tbsps., but used all the soy sauce called for and the salt level seemed to be ok. The chicken came out very dry, and the sauce was almost too tangy to use. I poured the sauce through a colander to get all the chunks out and tried to reduce it, but it stayed pretty watery. Also, when I attempted to brown the chicken, the skin came off - I think broiling is definitely the way to go here to get a crispy outer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I'm Filipino-Amer. and I like to try other adobo recipes. This recipe needed some adjustments to it. Salt didn't need to be added because the soysauce is salty enough-the water didn't need to be added because it waters down the flavor and adding 1 to 2 bay leaves are a big part of this recipe. There are also several variations to cooking this recipe. Traditional stove top cooking can be messy so baking is great, leave the skin side up and broil for 10 mins, crunchy chicken skin is "ono" (delicious) and the crockpot is the other alternative cooking method. For those of us who work and just want to come home and EAT. I hope this was helpful : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I tried this recipe at home and asked my filipino friend to come over for dinner. She didn't want to like my chicken adobo, because it was way too salty and something wasn't right with the taste. She told me that I could eliminate the water, add onions, and adjust the amount of soy sauce to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
I'm sorry, I thought this recipe was horrible. The sauce was very, very watery. I marinated the chicken for over 24 hours with the listed ingriedients, and I felt in the end, the chicken still tasted bland. And, to top it off, adding the watery sauce just amplified how sour it truly was. It may be that my mother had a different recipe, but I am Filipino-American and I've had other recipes. I did not consider this one a good one, at least for my own tastes. --too brothy, like soup, I cut the salt, and in the end, way sour from too much vinegar. Any other recipes???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
great, i added less vinegar and doubled the juice recipe for a broth.mother-in-law loves the broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I made this for my husband whose mother used to make it for him when he was little. When it was done, I was pretty sure that my kids wouldn't like the strong taste so I added a large can of pineapple chunks and juice to it. That mellowed it out just enough and created the perfect ratio of sweet and salty, which complimented the chicken nicely. I also used boneless and skinless chicken and served it over Jasmine rice. I didn't fry it which made it virtually fat free but full of flavor. Needless to say my family enjoyed it and I will surely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I did this in a crockpot and thought the sauce was odd - but we all (me and guests) loved the chicken and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States