Chicken a la Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This came out really good. I've made it before, but it was better because I heated the dish before throwing the chicken in this time, and eliminated the soggy bottom issue. For only 2 chicken breasts, I still used 1/2 cup mayo, mixed with granulated garlic, onion, seasoned pepper and celery salt. Coated the chicken with all of it, then the cornflakes. Sprinkled with dill and lemon zest. Yummy dish, and I'd make it again... this way. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
My Grandmother made this for years! I can't believe I stumbled on this (thanks to recipe seach and and empty pantry close to grocery night). I cut my chicken into strips (chicken tenders) and add a little onion powder to the seasoning mix. I spray the bottom of the baking dish with a little Pam so nothing sticks and bake them at 350 for 30 - 35 minutes turning once during baking. These come out so tender and moist with a light crispy coating even using lite mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I hate mayo! And this recipe was awesome!!!!! So juicy. I didn't have cornflakes, so I used bread crumbs, but I bet cornflakes would be good, too. I followed the recipe exactly except for the bread crumbs, and next time I will not change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZ219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
Very moist and forgiving. If you make a mistake, it's still very good. I add about 50% more lemon, use "honey" type corn flakes, and garnish with lemon zest after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
Mixing plain yoghurt with the mayo (half and half) removes a few calories and doesn't affect the flavour. I've also used bread crumbs in lieu of corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
WOW! I received many compliments from my husband when I cooked this for dinner. I love to find a chicken recipe that my husband loves. I didn't measure the ingredients and used Special K cereal. Thank you William!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We were not too crazy about this recipe. I'm sure that anyone who LOVES dill will like it, but unfortunately that's not us. Not sure why other reviewers thought this was bland - we thought the dill flavor was WAY too potent (followed the recipe exactly). Hubby said, "if you make it again, change the seasoning". I will try again, but will substitute the dill for garlic or something else we prefer. Also, make sure you crush the cornflakes into small peices, or you'll have a mess when cutting into the chicken. This was my first time using corflakes as a "breading", and I didn't crush them enough. Lastly, I agree with another reviewer - there was no "Allow excess to drip off" - the sauce was too thick for that. I'll update my review when I make it again with changes. I think it will make a nice "base" when modified with a different seasoning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I would give this 5 stars, but I didn't exactly follow the entire recipe. I made the mayo sauce and added just enough milk to make it thin enough for dipping. I used Orange Roughy fillets, dipped them in the mayo mixture, then a mixture of 30 crushed saltine crackers, 2 Tbsp. flour, and 2 Tbsp. instant potato flakes (see Chicken Fried Chicken recipe on this site). Then I fried them in a skillet (flip only once so you don't disturb the coating). Then I drizzled some of the reserved thinned mayo mixture over the fried fillets. It was soooo good! Even my super picky husband really liked it. Just thought the flavors in this mayo sauce seemed more suited to fish. That's what would make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. However, the second time I skipped the mayo but added the spices to multi-grain flakes instead of corn flakes. They baked real nicely but the bottom flakes were soggy. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very yummy chicken, the entire family loved this. I made one change. I used organic bread crumbs instead of the corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States