Chicken a la Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Despite the funny name to this recipe, it really was very good!!! I was worried it was going to be too much dill, which I like, but don't love. It wasn't though, all the ingredients went very well together to make a very flavorful chicken dish. I tried a reviewers idea to heat the dish before I put the chicken in the oven so the bottom wouldn't be soggy because I hate that. It didn't work for me. I heated it and then rubbed some butter in the bottom. It started sizzling and I immediately put the chicken in and then in the oven. I even broiled it at the end for a few minutes. Maybe I did it wrong, I don't know. I have never tried that before, Oh well!! It was still great and I will make it again. It was good enough to deal with the soggy bottom!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I was a bit dissapointed. It was nice and moist, but I wasn't too pleased with the flavor. Just a personal taste. Beverly Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Moist and tasty. I love the taste of fresh dill and mixed up the mayo/dill mixture the day before and let the flavors blend. I had to bake the chicken about 5 or 6 minutes longer than the recipe said, because I didn't pound the chicken as thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I made this chicken last night, it was good, but not great. The bottom of the chicken was soggy. I think next time, I will just coat the top of the breast. I used 1/2 light mayo and 1/2 light sour cream. I also used Curves Honey Crunch. Its Whole grain and it was very crunchy. Also there is only 1g of fat in 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Will definitely do again! Didn't have regular corn flakes, had Special K Vanilla with sliced almonds and wow! This turned out Great! Thanks for the recipe. I thought the mayo would be overpowering - no way! It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LazyForTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I would like to thank you very much for making this recipe available. I made it a few nights ago and my husband and I really thought it was great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yummytampa
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This chicken was delicious! I couldn't believe how easy, fast and wonderful it was. I was nervous about the dill after reading some other reviews, but made it as is and it was wonderful! I used a Honey Bunches of Oats-type cereal with almonds and the sweetness of that combined with the dill was surprisingly good. It was also extremely moist and the flavors really went all the way through the chicken. One thing I think made a difference is I used Hellman's Mayo for the best flavor (regular - not low fat) and I sprinkled the chicken with salt before coating in the mayo mixture. Also, I took another reviewer's suggetion and crushed the cereal in a ziplock bag before coating the chicken in it. I kept all the measurements the same and just used three boneless breasts - had enough coating left over for one more piece of chicken, but oh well - not too much waste. This is one of our new favorites. Perfect for a weeknight dinner! Next time I'll take a photo since the posted photo doesn't due this recipe justice - it looks very attractive when cooked. Highly recommended! Thank you! Thank you poster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummytampa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Really good, will be using this recipe more often. I substituted bran flakes for the corn flakes and I used fresh dill in the mayo. My kids loved this also. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommeee
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Easy, but bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommeee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I hate mayo! And this recipe was awesome!!!!! So juicy. I didn't have cornflakes, so I used bread crumbs, but I bet cornflakes would be good, too. I followed the recipe exactly except for the bread crumbs, and next time I will not change a thing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZ219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States