Chicken a la King III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I thought this tasted pretty good, for finding it looking for a recipe to use up some cubed chicken. My only changes were using low sodium vegetable broth, reduced fat sour cream, and 1 egg instead of 2 egg yolks. I also cooked it all for a few more minutes, on medium, to cook off any alcohol flavor. I served with some microwaved jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was awful-almost a one star (couldn't eat it) overpowering sour under taste from the sour cream maybe? I used less than half the recommended amount and added some sugar to counteract which helped a little-I added the garlic and onion as some others recommended and added some chicken bouillon to try and correct for the sour taste but to no avail. I really wanted this to be good because we love chicken ala king and haven't found a good recipe. Guess I will keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Wonderful... just added my own spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I'm not the best cook but my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe, although I did add another 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon powder to give more flavor. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was awesome. Easy to make and so incredibly delicious. I had to substitute the sherry for port, the sour cream for non-fat greek yogurt, and I eliminated one egg yolk. All these changes were because I used what I had. My husband who typically won't eat chicken raved about it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I didn't have bell pepper or pimento and I did add onion and garlic, otherwise I made as directed. It was really good! Next time I will double the sauce. I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
SO GOOD! I ate it on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
It was great! My hubby gobbled it up. I used the leftover meat from a roasted chicken. My family doesn't do mushrooms so I finely diced half of a sweet onion and sautéed it in the butter. I used some homemade chicken broth then added the chicken and a bag of frozen mixed veggies. The sauce was tasty and creamy. I served it over Pillsbury Flaky layers biscuts. This is a keeper and will be added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I've tried different Chicken a la King recipes and still haven't found one that I like. To this recipe I added onion, garlic, and thyme and I still thought that there wasn't much flavor; it was just OK. I won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States