Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kellie2boyzMom
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
We LOVE this recipe. I've been making it for years for my family. I don't use pimentos. Instead, I use a mix of red and green bell peppers and only 1/2-3/4 of a bell pepper. I also use a little less butter, more mushrooms and add it celery salt. My husband grew up eating the canned stuff and he says this is the taste of the canned stuff, only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is the recipe I go to as the base for my Chicken a la King. I'm glad I make it a habit to read the reviews each time I come here so I'm reminded about needing to add more milk. 1 1/2 cups brings the sauce to the right consistency. I add more Better than Bouillon -- chicken flavor to make the sauce even more "chickeny". I've always preferred using red bell pepper to the limp pimientos. I think it adds texture and color. I also sometimes throw in frozen peas. Yes, I change quite a few things with this recipe, but I always look for this particular recipe to start with. Just wish the author, Lillian, would return and fix that "1/2 cup of milk" thing. I'm giving the recipe five stars, overlooking that one problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Good, simple delicious recipe. I did tweak it a little and used fresh mushrooms, peas, broccoli and diced carrots. I ended up using a little less butter and more broth and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious, uncomplicated & it turned out well. I substituted 1 large can (drained) chicken breast for the cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is a good basic recipe, and easily adapted to your tastes. Like many other reviewers, I too had to add a considerable additional amount of liquid to make it my desired sauce consistency. I added both milk and broth, as well as a splash of white wine. I used fresh mushrooms as in the original recipe, but also added about a cup of frozen green peas. Served over biscuits, delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuffinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
family loved it. i added more pepper, only 1/3 cup flour and pre seasoned the chicken before cooking it. otherwise, this meal was incredible and plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Was OK. Chicken A La King sauce is supposed to be fairly thick, but this seemed to lack flavor. If I do it again I would maybe add some garlic. Maybe do cream of mushroom with a little more milk instead of the broth & milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very good! As other reviews recommended I added extra milk but it was still very thick. It had amazing flavor and was a big hit. I will make it again with more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
The whole family really enjoyed this recipe. I added season salt, garlic powder and herb mix to add some zip. Also did the peas and carrots to sneak some veggies into the kids. I stuck with the 1/2 cup of milk which made for a nice thick, rich sauce which we really liked, all a matter of personal taste if you prefer a thick or thin sauce. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I really like this recipe - reminds me of my childhood, having lunch with my mom and sister. I omit the rice though and serve it over a slice of white bread like mom used to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States