Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This is the recipe I go to as the base for my Chicken a la King. I'm glad I make it a habit to read the reviews each time I come here so I'm reminded about needing to add more milk. 1 1/2 cups brings the sauce to the right consistency. I add more Better than Bouillon -- chicken flavor to make the sauce even more "chickeny". I've always preferred using red bell pepper to the limp pimientos. I think it adds texture and color. I also sometimes throw in frozen peas. Yes, I change quite a few things with this recipe, but I always look for this particular recipe to start with. Just wish the author, Lillian, would return and fix that "1/2 cup of milk" thing. I'm giving the recipe five stars, overlooking that one problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Good, simple delicious recipe. I did tweak it a little and used fresh mushrooms, peas, broccoli and diced carrots. I ended up using a little less butter and more broth and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious, uncomplicated & it turned out well. I substituted 1 large can (drained) chicken breast for the cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is a good basic recipe, and easily adapted to your tastes. Like many other reviewers, I too had to add a considerable additional amount of liquid to make it my desired sauce consistency. I added both milk and broth, as well as a splash of white wine. I used fresh mushrooms as in the original recipe, but also added about a cup of frozen green peas. Served over biscuits, delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuffinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
family loved it. i added more pepper, only 1/3 cup flour and pre seasoned the chicken before cooking it. otherwise, this meal was incredible and plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Was OK. Chicken A La King sauce is supposed to be fairly thick, but this seemed to lack flavor. If I do it again I would maybe add some garlic. Maybe do cream of mushroom with a little more milk instead of the broth & milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very good! As other reviews recommended I added extra milk but it was still very thick. It had amazing flavor and was a big hit. I will make it again with more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
The whole family really enjoyed this recipe. I added season salt, garlic powder and herb mix to add some zip. Also did the peas and carrots to sneak some veggies into the kids. I stuck with the 1/2 cup of milk which made for a nice thick, rich sauce which we really liked, all a matter of personal taste if you prefer a thick or thin sauce. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I really like this recipe - reminds me of my childhood, having lunch with my mom and sister. I omit the rice though and serve it over a slice of white bread like mom used to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I really liked this dish. It was such a throwback to my childhood. I did tinker with it a bit with alot more chicken broth, more veggies: peas, carrots & fresh spinach and some splashes of Worschestire Sauce for flavor and tone down the pasty white color. My husband loved it and will definetly make it again...probably with a gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolasmomma
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States