Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This was a excellent version of the Chicken a la King I used to eat as a child. I added 1 1/4 C milk and 1/4 C flour and it turned out perfect. I also added peas and carrots. This is so quick and easy....it's a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
The sauce is thick and pasty. I believe there is a typo in the recipe. I think the milk should be 1 1/2 cups instead of just 1/2 cup. This would make total liquids comparable to other recipes. Also the taste is somewhat bland. Perhaps the ad-dition of 1 tsp worcestershire sauce would jazz it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I added an additional cup of milk, it was too thick using only 1/2 cup. I also added 2 tsp of garlic powder to enhance the flavor and added a small can of drained peas. Overall, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Ditch the pimentos and green peppers and replace with mixed vegetables (corn, peas and carrots - I use a bag of the frozen variety). This is the recipe I remember as a kid and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
I cut this recipe in half, since I was only cooking for two. Good thing, because after I added the liquid to the flour it was way to thick. I also think there was a mistake in the recipe, it should have called for 1/4c flour (not 1/2). I didn't have bell pepper so I used onion. I seasoned my chicken with Tony Chacheres before cooking it in a pan with butter. Along with the pimientos I added some peas. It turned out great! I am looking forward to cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wanted something different than our usual sauteed veggies, chicken, and rice. This was just as simple and very good. I used the whole 1/2 cup flour and 2/3 cup milk instead of 1/2. I had extra broth on hand in case it needed thinned but it turned out fine. I added onions and extra mushrooms and just salted and peppered to taste. Everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I really like this recipe - reminds me of my childhood, having lunch with my mom and sister. I omit the rice though and serve it over a slice of white bread like mom used to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
very good!! I too lessened the flour and increased the milk. It is now a staple for those nights when I get ased whats for dinner. I put it over biscuts too. I is really one of my favorite comfort foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a very good recipe and I would make it again. I do recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe for using leftover chicken. Didn't have the bell peppers or pimentos. Had to add and extra cup of milk (making a total of 1-1/2 cups). As other reviewers stated, 1/2 cup flour may be too much. Also added 8 oz frozen mixed veggies. Nice easy dish to prepare...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States