Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was very tasty but the measurements are off. I had to add quite a bit more liquid to equal out the butter/flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
very good!! I too lessened the flour and increased the milk. It is now a staple for those nights when I get ased whats for dinner. I put it over biscuts too. I is really one of my favorite comfort foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
My one complaint was like the others it was too thick. I was thinking it was my fault becasue I had no chicken broth so I used boulion powder as I have it on hand always and used all milk and some cream for the liquid. I added water until I got it at the consistancy I liked. The other changes I made was I used one 6 oz can of Albacore Tuna as I had no chicken on hand and I added a small amount of frozen peas. I thought the dish had good flavor like I remember a la king should taste like. I put it over the rice. I'll make a note to reduce the flour next time, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This came out good. I only used 2 TBS. butter with the mushrooms, red peppers and some diced onion. As other reviewers suggested, I cut the flour to 1/4 cup. It still came out thicker than we liked (maybe due to the lesser amount of butter), so I added a bit of white wine, along with more chicken broth. I served it with mixed veggies over puff pastry shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe for using leftover chicken. Didn't have the bell peppers or pimentos. Had to add and extra cup of milk (making a total of 1-1/2 cups). As other reviewers stated, 1/2 cup flour may be too much. Also added 8 oz frozen mixed veggies. Nice easy dish to prepare...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My husband who was a cook at the time, use to make this dish for us back when we were Newlyweds (29 years ago). Times were tough for us back then so it was all we could afford to make! haha Just recently, I have been craving this dish & asked him to make it for me but, he cant remember how to make it * he's now an HVAC mechanic who makes lots of money so that's probably why he has a memory loss! ;-) I saw this recipe and it sounded as close to the one he used to make so thought that I'd give it a try. Well, I started off making this following the author's directions to the letter & I too found that the flour measurement given was way too much!!!!! Thank goodness I poached my chicken breast & reserved all the liquid * was saving it for my dogs* because, I had to add a good 6 big soup ladle scoops of the broth to finally get this to a manageable consistency *not to mention, I also threw in a half wine glass full of my CA Blush Chablis*!! ;-[] Well, that saved the consistency but, it still was lacking flavor so...thew in some seasoned salt..more pepper...a half tsp. of jarred minced garlic, paprika & a dash of dried parsley flakes. Hopefully, I now have what taste like I remember? I will post a photo of the finished product at a later date ~Bon Appetite~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Everyone really enjoyed this tonight Lillian. I added garlic and onion powders and a sprinkling of cayenne. Didn't measure the flour; just kept adding until it looked right. Served this over homemade biscuits. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and went very smoothly. The only changes I made was to add fresh garlic (we like a lot of it) and some cayenne pepper. I also cooked the chicken in the leftover chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Everyone else here seemed to enjoy this, and it was really simple to prepare and had a nice presentation with all the different colors. We've never had chicken a la king before and didn't know what to expect. I thought it would be like an open faced chicken pot pie deal, but it was really not at all. the white sauce had a nice texture but I had to add more chcken broth as it was much too thick. It seemed rather bland and too green peppery tasting plus had no wow factor. I only used 1/2 a green pepper, but it still seemed to have a dominant sweet pepper flavor, but maybe that is what chicken a la king is supposed to taste like? I didnt't like it and scraped it off my biscuits but the rest of my family ate theirs and seemed to like it okay. I doubt anyone here would miss it if I never made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
this was GREAT! We served it over biscuits. I used just over a 1/4 cup of flour.... and a bit more than a cup of milk. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States