Chicken a la King II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Great recipe! Family loves this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a very good recipe and I would make it again. I do recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Ditch the pimentos and green peppers and replace with mixed vegetables (corn, peas and carrots - I use a bag of the frozen variety). This is the recipe I remember as a kid and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I changed it based on reviews, 1.25 cups milk, and .25 cups flour. I also used fresh ground whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My husband thought it was great, but I refused to eat the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TStripes360

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Just like Mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I used the whole can 14 oz can of chicken broth and increased the milk to about 1 cup. Otherwise, it's way too thick. I also added about 1/2 cup of frozen peas instead of pimentos with the chicken. Very good, will serve with frozen egg noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very bland recipe, it took a lot to season it up. The sauce was very thick and pasty even after thinning it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had not thought about Chicken a la King since my college days (almost 30 years ago), when it was a staple. But earlier this summer we had a family event and my sister-in-law requested that I "cook up some of that chicken thing you used to make when we were kids". This recipe came pretty close to how I remember making Chicken a la King, so I followed it to a "T" (except quadrupled) and presented it to 4 generations of skeptics and critics. It was good -- very good, as a matter of fact -- and to my surprise, very well received. A couple of weeks ago, my elder son asked me to make it again. Which, naturally, I did -- except that time, I reverted to my old recipe, using chicken boullion cubes instead of broth, frozen peas instead of green pepper (canned peas get too mushy) and canned mushrooms instead of fresh. In addition, I stirred a generous sprinkling of high grade Hungarian paprika and a couple of Cayenne pepper flakes into the pot at the same time I added the chicken and pimentos. Fortunately, I had doubled the recipe because we all had seconds. (I always liked Chicken a la King over rice, but next time I think I'll serve it over egg noodles for greater "density").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. I added chopped onion and celery and sauteed. I also cooked the chicken breast in the boullion/water to help flavor it. I eyeballed the flour and made a roux type thing and also eyeballed the milk. Pretty good and pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookiEpiphany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States