Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I added more veggies, but the advice I got from this recipe on how to make the sauce was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent and fast to make. I used real mushrooms and added peas from the can. Instead of milk I used cooking cream and less flour. I will surely make this again as it was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So I did my own thing with this recipe, but it still has great "bones" for making Chicken a la King. I started off with chicken drumsticks (about 4 lbs) and seared them quickly in about 3 tablespoons of vegetable oil. Took out the chicken when the skin was browned. Sauteed up one medium onion in the remaining vegetable oil. I also added 4 cloves of garlic. I then added 4 cups of water to this and put the chicken back in the pot. Boiled for about 10 minutes, then removed chicken again. In another dish I made the rue using the butter, flour and milk called for in the recipe. Added the rue to the chicken stock. Then added 1 bag of mixed veggies (peas and carrots). I probably tripled the chicken bouillon and also added 1/2 cup of sour cream to this. Finally, I took the skin off the chicken and hand shredded the chicken and added it back to the sauce. Simmer until it boils and serve. I did not use the pepper or chopped pimentos. Was really great and my picky daughter loved it. Lots of flavor and not bland. Just remember to add way more bouillon than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Good over flat noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I can't believe I've never had Chicken a la King before, but this was my first time. My family really enjoyed this dish! Made it almost exactly as written except that I didn't have a green pepper, so I used green peas, instead. Also added a sliced onion and some fresh garlic with the mushrooms. I spilled my reserved mushroom liquid, so I added a second can. Served over rice. Delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
As a child my mother made this and i always loved it! Just like moms, thanks for the recipe. No changes whatsoever, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I love this so much. This recipe makes a huge amount, so if it's just for you I would suggest cutting it by at least half - or plan to be eating it for the rest of the week. I use fresh mushrooms and veg stock instead of the bouillon and reserved mushroom water, whole wheat flour, and serve it over brown rice and it is wonderful. Basically put in as many vegetables as you want, and it's great (I like red bell pepper, peas, chopped baby carrots etc..). I also add a little bit of whatever spice I have handy to up the flavor a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I remember my mom making this when I was growing up! I changed it up with a bag of frozen mixed veggies instead of the mushrooms, green pepper and pimento, I also used the broth from boiling the chicken instead of plain water. My husband is pretty picky and he loved it. The kids love it too. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Faith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was very easy and a hit with my husband and boys. I used roasted red pepper instead of pimiento with great results. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Quick, easy, tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States