Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Husband and young son loved this. Served over potato rolls purchased at the bakery. Threw in just a few peas. Also NOTE: freezes excellently, so make some now, throw some in the freezer, have it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Didn't read all the reviews; however, as one reviewer stated, it was bland. The texture was just right, thick and creamy, but the flavor was lacking, as all eight of us agreed. I even used my own flavorful broth instead of water. Maybe needs onion, garlic...and something else? More herbs and seasonings...cream cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Someone at work mentioned Chicken a la King and I just had to make it. She gave me a recipe and it was practically identical to this one. I couldn't resist using peas in mine and mushrooms were fresh not canned. I'll always remember how this wonderful meal sustained me during the week long power outage after the NE blizzard / Feb '13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was very good. I really enjoyed the pepper flavor as the green pepper flavor really seeped in. The pimento was very good as well. This made a LOT of sauce, so putting it over rice or noodles or something (as the author stated) is really a must. But the sauce is so good you could probably even eat it like a soup lol. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe! only thing I changed was to add some sherry as another reviewer recommended. I put it over toast points and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing Colleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Thomas Link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Served this over mashed potatoes and with corn and it was yummy! I added more mushrooms than the recipe calls for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I'd never had Chicken A La King before, but my husband kept asking for it, so I used this recipe. I have to say this was absolutely DELICIOUS! It is creamy, chickeny goodness with a delicate flavor. I read the past reviews and added 1 T of dry sherry (because a previous reviewer recommended it). I had to omit the mushrooms because I didn't have any in the house, but did add 1 cup of peas because my son loves them. I really appreciate the fact that there are only natural ingredients in the recipe. I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Would have been way too bland as written. Added diced onion, garlic, and fresh mushrooms, frozen peas, sea salt, cayenne pepper, and paprika. Used chicken stock in place of water. Served over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe and it was fantastic. I didn't have cooked chicken so I cut up about 2 pounds of chicken breast on the bias in strips and put that into a heavy pan after melting a half a stick of butter. I covered it so it didn't brown and I guess it was more boiled than anything, but in the butter and its own juices. Then I removed this, juices and all into a bowl. Then in the same pan, uncleaned (but also without any brownings), I followed the recipe exactly adjusting for amounts to the amount of chicken. I used canned whole button mushrooms. When I added the chicken and pimento, I also included the butter and juices from cooking of the chicken. Also I used 2% milk rather that whole milk. The whole thing turned out creamy and delicious, but perhaps too buttery, but I didn't want to loose the chicken juices and the butter as let's face it this is culinary gold. Likely in the future I will cut down the butter for the mushrooms and peppers I use for their saute, to offset the use of fresh uncooked chicken. I admit too that I did add frozen peas, because it just seemed appropriate. The end result was delicious. Chicken a la King has such a bad reputation somehow but this was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My Mom used to make this for me when I was a kid. She's fold white bread slices into muffin tins and over toast them, making "crowns", and then ladle the chicken ala king into the crowns. Ahhh memories :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States