Chicken a la King I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is really bland. I followed the recipe with one change, I added peas. I made it because I thought the kids would like it, but even they didn't eat (ages 10 and 7) it. As I ate, I kept thinking the dish would benefit from onions, leeks and garlic, but it's not worth making again to try. Not a fan of chicken a la king.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
DH and I happened to be watching an episode of Diners Drive-ins and Dives and Chicken a la King was being made. We both chuckled about it being a "flashback" to our youth and how long it had been since we'd eaten it (over toast points) or even thought of Chicken a la King. I made some that night using this recipe and we both LOVED it. It's a simple dish to make with everyday ingredients. Thanks for the recipe and the memory. I've added it to my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I am making this recipe tonight and going to use the pastry suggestions but I have never used pastry puffs and I don't know what to do with them, lol, can someone help me out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Satisfying and not difficult to make. I will teach my son to make it himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I grew up on Chicken A La King, but this has been the best version I've tried. Even prompted me to create an account so I could save the recipe. Made it verbatim using left over smoked turkey from thanksgiving. My kids are not fans of mushrooms but they all had seconds on this one. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Dragoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe is a keeper! Followed directions to the T but did add small peas for vegetable content and color! It was GREAT! Kids also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I made some substitutions. No pimento or green pepper. Used twice as many mushrooms, fresh if I have them. Frozen peas 12 oz bag. A can of low salt chicken broth. I did not add the salt but used herbs from my garden, a cup of fresh parsley and half cup of chives chopped and fresh thyme leaves to taste, all added with the chicken. Also added sherry 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband, myself, and 1 one of my kids thought this was bland. My two picky eaters-who sometimes think pepperoni is too spicy-loved it. Definitely depends on your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Very good I used chicken broth instead of water and used the Amish chicken paste instead of the bouillon. Didn't care for the pimento in it tho. Will use frozen peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lavonne Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was a great easy recipe.. The only changes I made was use fresh mushrooms and added green peas.. I served over biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States