Chicken a la Charlie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Really nothing special. I think the ingredients together had potential, but the dish would be better done on the stove top. Next time I'll brown the chicken, add the wine, then sautee the onions / mushrooms along with it. I'd add the soup / sour cream mixture afterwords and let it simmer until the chicken is cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
This recipe was a huge success at a dinner party that hosted. My husband and I couldn't wait to eat the leftovers. I premade the sauce, so that when my guest arrived all I had to do was combine it with the chicken and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
One month left until my girls' dance recital and my part time job at the studio ends for the summer! Until then, I have to rely on easy and quick dinners. This hit the spot Jacki! This recipe is fast and really good. I took Darla's advice and used sherry instead of wine. I love sherry in dishes and this was no exception. Thanks a heap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was really a hit at the potluck I brought it to. Served it with stuffing - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Hate to be the first to give a negative review - - the wine / chicken flavor was good, but served over rice, it just didn't do it for us. DEFINITELY better once it sits a while and cools off. Although it was very easy and all ingredients were readily available, I won't make this one again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! We made the following changes to feed our family of four. We reduced it to 6 chicken breasts but kept the ingredients the same. We sauted the onion and threw it and the mushrooms (canned) right in with the sauce that I whisked together cold and set aside. We pre cooked the chicken to about 2/3 done in a chicken fryer. then put it all together in a 9x13 as specified and baked 400 for 30 min. We served it over whole wheat penne pasta. So it was a pasta dish! We all had more than enough and their were leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Excellent, moist chicken! I cut the breast halves in half again (16 pcs.,) used only one can of soup (crm. of mushroom,)added all rest of the ingredents together, and poured it on top. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great recipe! I used sherry instead of wine - like others suggested. I also used a red onion and spread it in the bottom of the pan, loaded on my favorite seasonings, put the chicken on next, then topped with the mushrooms. I then covered with the sauce and baked. I only used 4 chicken breasts - that way there was a ton of "gravy" so I could serve all in crusty bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
The whole family really liked this recipe. I did use sherry instead of white wine which was fantastic! Usually when I cook a recipe that uses sherry my kids won't touch it but this one they devoured! Thanks a million :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APPLECARTJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2001
This recipe is great!! I'm not a great cook but I managed to surprise my family with this dish; for once there wasn't any left overs!!! I cut the recipe in half so I subsuited one can of cream of chicken WITH mushrooms soup for the two cans. Make this dish with confidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States