Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
i am from chicago and this is a good recipe just about as good as geodarnos they have the best stuffed pizza. a good pan to use is a basic cake pan my deepdish pizza pan was way too big for this and i also used a differnt sauce i used the "easy pizza sauce" recipe by Frank Sweterlitsch found on this site it makes a little more then needed but you can save the rest for your next pizza. also in the stuffed pizza you can change the stuffing and take the meat out and make it vegi or justall meat or just all chease i have had it may ways from the restraunts. vegi is my favorte. (even though i dont like vegis that much) you can put the onins green pepres and other vegis. its basicly just a pizza so put what you want in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was born and raised in chicago,and I will say this is a very good recipe. Even in Chicago you will find no two restaurants that make the same stuffed pizza. My husband and I can't agree, Carmen's or Lou Malnatis. This recipe has worked great for me and every time I have made it I was told it was the Best pizza they had ever eaten. This recipe was an excellent base, be creative. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
My children LOVED this pizza! I am however wondering when to use the 2 tbsp of oil...as it's not stated in the directions. I am from a suburb of Chicago (born & raised) and frequent the city quite often (especially in my younger days) and I am TOTALLY going to have to disagree with MEMIAN, that Chicagoans have to eat tomatoes on their pizza....wrong, that's like saying that we ALL love the cold & snow. There are plenty of pizzarias that serve pizza like this here in Chicago. This is a great recipe, I again used my corning ware quiche pan, however I think it's about time for me to invest in a pizza pan. The kids & I thank you Mark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I used Jay's Signature Crust also per reviews. I used 8x8 pan, too small. Next time 13x9. My 8x8 was packed with all these ingredients. Very yummy! I'll have to adjust the amounts to fit a 13x9. I love pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Because I read a previous review stating that there wasn't enough dough for a deep dish pan, I used the recipe that came with my pan for the crust. Everything else was the same and I loved it. My husband who isn't that fond of pizza even liked it. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. We are sauce lovers, so I added some store bought pizza sauce. I also used an extra large pie plate, but there was too much dough. A pizza pan will be added to my Christmas list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made this for my husband and "picky eater" 9 year old. They loved it, it has become a requested now a family favorite. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
AMAZING! Guests always request it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Fantastic! Instead of using the crust recipe included, I used Jay's Signature Pizza crust in my 10 inch springform pan (it makes serving a snap.)My only change was to garnish the top with another cup of cheese, a few green onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
We really enjoyed this recipe, as I love to make unusual pizzas for my family. I used a combination of ground beef and hot italian sausage for a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States