Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
The pizza I made using the filler from this recipe (though tweaked just a bit) turned out great! I did use the "Jay's Signature Pizza Crust" recipe for my pizza crust, and I used the "Easy Pizza Sauce III" recipe for my pizza sauce (though I tweaked the sauce a little by only using 2 teaspoons of oregano, adding 2 teaspoons of basil, and adding 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar). I also used about 14 to 15 ounces of mozzarella cheese instead of the 9 ounces this recipe called for. And I put a layer of ricotta cheese down on the pizza crust before adding the rest of the filler. Finally, I only made a pepperoni pizza, instead of using all of the vegetables this recipe called for. The combination of these three recipes, with the few minor tweaks I made, made for an EXCELLENT pizza!!! Very, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
The sauce was good, but I had issues with the crust. It rose too much while baking...I don't know what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
My son goes to college at Northwestern in the Chicago area, so when he was home for a visit, I wanted to make an authentic stuffed pizza like the ones he enjoyed so much there. This was a good recipe but we have some suggestions for improvement. We thought the pizza dough would be better without the cornmeal and prefer our traditional pizza dough recipe. Also, there was a complaint that there was not enough mozzarella cheese. My sister, who lived in Chicago for years, said, "Whatever it is, it's good," which suggested it was not quite like the Chicago stuffed pizzas she'd had. Also, I think it would be better to add the tomato sauce on during the last 5 to ten minutes of cooking so it retains the rich red color and does not look browned and dry, and it could use a sprinkle of parmesan on top. As I made the recipe, my son advised me that sliced tomatoes must be included in the filling, and that was very good. The next night, I tried it again, and this time made a sauteed fresh spinach, onion, and mushroom filling (not forgetting the sliced tomatoes), my usual pizza dough recipe, and a spaghetti sauce topping added during the last 10 minutes, more cheese, and it was given far better reviews. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I made this twice using a 9 x 13 pan. The first time, the bottom crust burned. The second time, I reduced the baking time to 35 minutes and dropped the heat a bit and it came out great. I substitute crushed tomatoes w/basil for the topping and put some in the filling as well. This does seem to take a long time to prep, though. Next time, I'm going to try this same idea with a different dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Fantastic! Instead of using the crust recipe included, I used Jay's Signature Pizza crust in my 10 inch springform pan (it makes serving a snap.)My only change was to garnish the top with another cup of cheese, a few green onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
AMAZING! Guests always request it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
i love giordano's pizza, so i was excited to try the stuffed pizza at home. i used a 9-in round cake pan, since others said they had success with that, but i was disappointed with the crust. it was even thicker than chicago-style, and sort of hard to chew. i'm not an expert at breads, so it may have been my fault, but i will try the stuffed pizza with another dough recipe next time. i loved the filling- how can you go wrong with cheese, sausage, pepperoni, garlic, and onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made this for my husband and "picky eater" 9 year old. They loved it, it has become a requested now a family favorite. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Pizza was very very delicous. But I have a tip because I like my veggies throughly cooked. I sauteed the veggies a little bit first before baking the pizza. But otherwise, it was verrrrrrrrry good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very good! Simple to make and very tasty. Except for the veggies (heaven forbid!) even the World's Pickiest Eater liked it. Will definitely use again, sans veggies to please him. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States