Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
So good! Can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Like a lot of other reviewers, I think this recipe is a good start. However, I haven't found too many restaurants in Chicago or the 'burbs that serve a pizza like this. The crust on top is more of an east coast thing, and there is nowhere near enough cheese in this recipe. If it wasn't for calling it "chicago style" I would give it more stars because it tastes good...but it's not really a chicago style stuffed pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I can't really rate this since I used a refrigerated pizza crust. Maybe that was my mistake. 450 degrees for 45 min turned the crust to a burnt brick. We salvaged the filling by scooping it out onto buns and had pizza burgers. Not sure if I would attempt again after the failure I had and not knowing what time and temp to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
excellent recipe. i did add a dash of nutmeg to the sauce. it adds a nice taste that has baffled most people trying to make my pizza sauce at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I first tried this recipe when I moved overseas (from Chicago) It was awesome!! We made it for friends who also loved the pizza. We sometimes change the ingredients, but overall there is no need to, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was wonderful! I used the spring form pan as others had suggested and it worked out perfectly. I also used a store bought pizza dough, which was quite the hassle in getting it to stick to the sides of the pan, but all in all, definitely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
AWESOME! We absolutely loved this pizza. I used my own dough and put it into a 8-1/2 inch springform pan. The filling was incredible! I also added fresh mushrooms that I cooked up with the onions, green peppers and garlic. When that was almost cooked I added in the cooked sausage and pepperoni. I let that cool added the cheeses and proceeded with the recipe. This will be a regular at our house! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Finding this recipe is the best thing that has ever happend to me in the kitchen. First off the first couple time you try to make it, it is frustrating. Be patient. To make it easier I just buy Pilsbury thin crust pizza dough (it just unrolls)and use a spring form pan. one dough should be enough. Center the dough over the pan and get it set down in there. Cut the excess off and you should be able to roll it out enough to use for the top. I have contemplated buying a second crust for $1.72 and not having to get the rolling pin out. But you would have quite a bit of waste. Ok for the ingredients. Follow this to your own peril but I do not brown the sausage first. It gets plenty cooked. Browned sausage then in the oven another half hour gets too tough, also I have substitued with breakfast sausage and can't really tell a difference. Couple other tweaks. I add fennel seed and do not use "pizza sauce" from the store. It is too runny. We use our favorite spaghetti suace from a jar. I also like to add some diced tomatos to the ingredients inside, Last tip, make sure the top is nice and brown before putting the sauce on or it will get soggy. Yes the sauce is only on for 5 min. All the people I have made this for cannot believe what their mouths are telling them. Can homemade pizza really be this much better than any other pizza I have eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I can't join in on the "is it" or "isn't it" ture chicago style debate, b/c I've never been to Chicago, but I can say this wasn't worth the prep. time. The directions aren't written the best, they are choppy and left me with further questions. The top crust was soft and pillowy, but the sides and bottom were so tough and crisp that I could barely cut through to serve! I'm giving this three stars b/c the "filling" was great and the presentation great as well! I will try a stuffed pizza pie again, but with a different dough recipe. BTW, I used a 10" springform pan and pressed the crust approx. half way up the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have never had an authentic Chicago sytle pizza, but since I first saw this recipe I was lusting over it. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a stone pie plate. The crust was very crisp, even though I cnly baked it about 20-25 minutes. The aroma was wonderful. The filling was a little dry (maybe that is authentic, I don't know) so the second time I added chopped tomatoes. My husband & I both love it! Will make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States