Chicago Style Stuffed Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was a good to eat delicious recipe. I followed everything as mentioned. For some reason my crust became a little too hard.. if anyone can help me about what needs to be added ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I tried this recipe today. I wasn't all that impressed. It was satisfying as a meal, but it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is very poorly written. The directions in paragraph one seem to indicate that you should mix both bowls together then, but then it shifts course in the second paragraph. It never tells you what to do with the olive oil, and when I cooked it for the suggested time, the bottom was burned, the stuffing was lukewarm. DO NOT USE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The crust is the key to knocking this recipe out of the park. But, if you've never worked with dough before, read on... Here are Tips for working with/making your own bread/pizza dough: 1) if the water you add to the yeast is even 1 degree too hot, the sugar/yeast/water mixture will not foam and your dough ultimately will not rise. If you proceed not realizing that the mixture isn't foamy enough, you may try to use this dough and the results will be unflavorful, tough dough...like the way a piece of white bread looks after you've rolled it into a ball. The temp of the water really matters b/c it can kill the activity of the yeast. If you don't have a thermometer, your Safe bet is to use lukewarm water. Better than too hot. Once the yeast mixture is foamy, mix in the dry ingredients and put the dough ball into a bowl greased with olive oil. Cover with a damp kitchen towel in a warmer part of the kitchen...dough should expand twice it's size. 2) for the chic pizza dough...use the cornmeal. Makes it authentic Chic style and personally, I prefer the taste. 3) bread flour, sifted, is always better than all purpose flour for bread making. I only use all purpose flour if I'm desperate. 4) for the pan...springform is a good and easy way to get deep dish effect and super easy to remove (obviously)...but if you don't have one, use iron skillet if you can. This is a good recipe. With fresh ingredients and some HOT Italian sausage, it's a showstopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It was awesome and tasted just like the restaurants I visit in Chicago. However, it only needs about 25-30 minutes cooking time so the crust isn't too hard but is still cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Best crust ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I am a big Chicago deep dish lover, even to the point of having it shipped to my home overnight, so I was delighted to find this recipe! I made some of the changes suggested in other reviews, such as adding diced tomatoes to the sausage mix and using a springform pan. I didn't top the dough with the sauce until it ad baked 15 minutes. You need to put it on before the "5-10 time left" suggested by some reviewers because you'll burn the crust. Right before I took it out of the oven I put grated parm on top. As for omitting the cornmeal, I would not suggest it, because it is a staple ingredient in traditional Chicago deep dish! Chicago greats and originals use it in their dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
When I came home from Chicago, I couldn't get their famous pizza out of my head. This recipe fit the bill perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clcasas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
this pizza dough is a great thin cracker crust and a good stuffed pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was easy and good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States