Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I have made this recipe many, many times and my family loves it. I cook the dough/pizza crust first for about 15 minutes, then add all the toppings. I continue baking for about another 20 or so minutes, until the crust is golden brown and toppings are all melted and bubbly, that the crust comes out better to our liking. It works for us and you then don't have to worry about whether the crust is cooked through in the middle of your pizza. We also make this in a deep dish pizza pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
851 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
One very, very critical item on pizza is letting the mozarella cheese dry out in the fridgeopen to air for 5-6 hours before putting it on. This will give the cheese the "stretch" proprerty you see when pulling a wedge from the pie. "Wet" cheese is a no-no on pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Recipe is perfect 'as is.' No changes. Be sure to drain the tomatoes well or deglop fresh ones if not using canned. The only tips I have are related to baking. 1) Greasing the pan tends to make the dough slip, so I grease and lightly flour the pan; 2) baking the crust for 15 min before placing everything on top was key, as another reviewer mentioned. For my taste, I add a bit of minced fresh garlic and chili pepper flakes. This is the recipe we use all the time, with Quick and Easy Pizza Crust also from this site; I don't use frozen. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I don't really ever leave reviews, but this one deserved it! This is my favorite recipe, and I make it once a week for my husband and myself. It's even better heated up as a leftover! I doubled the fennel seed and I don't use all the tomatoes. Make very sure you drain the tomatoes well, or else your pizza will be a little soggy. Yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is a good recipie, but I do the following...after putting the crust into a CAST IRON SKILLET, I brush the crust with olive oil...then add fresh sliced mozzie cheese and then the ingrdients and finishing it up.....makes it so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.D. Finney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I am looking for a good deep dish pizza recipe but was very disappointed with this one. It was bread with pizza toppings covering it. I had difficulty getting the bread to cook completely and found it gummy and unappealing. I can see how it would be a great advantage over dough made from yeast, but if you really want great pizza you need to take the time to make your own dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I really liked making pizza in a pan and I LOVED the sauce--so good!!!! I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and canned mushrooms because that was all I had. Be sure to pre-bake the crust and make sure that it isn't too thick--my crust was so thick that it was still undercooked even though I pre-baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and can not get enough of it. I do not change anything, as you should not when trying a recipe. People who alter recipes should just post their own an leave originals alone. This recipe is a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a great base recipe that can be easily changed up for whatever ingredients you have on hand! I have made it many times with different fillings and it is wonderful. An example is to use turkey pepperoni instead of sausage..just layer some on the crust. Much more healthy if you are watching calories, also have used reduced fat mozzarella. I found 24 oz of diced tomatos is way too much...I halve that and add extra sauted onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Made this pizza for my family and it was a major hit. I've also tried changing the toppings around...but this is a great start! Tonight...i'm making it just as is. However some nights when I don't have all the ingredients...I will add other toppings. This is the only pizza recipe I use now!! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Flag Pizza

See how to make the world’s most patriotic pepperoni pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States