Chicago-Style Pan Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This is my very first review on this site. This recipe is awesome!! I had been wanting a recipe for deep dish for a long time and finally saw this one. I made it exactly as it says except I did use a pillsbury pizza dough refriggerated crust (wheat) and prebaked the crust for about 10 to 15 minutes as other reviewers said and did add pepperonis and extra cheese. It did not tell when to add the olive oil so I added it to the onion/tomato/mushroom mixture. Very delicious - very happy with this base recipe - the crust was perfect, taste was good. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I highly recommend a few add ons to attain a thoroughly cooked (not gummy!) & higher crust: Oil the pan, sprinkle with cornmeal -- stretch the dough out & proof for at leas 20 minutes -- until its light and a bit puffy. Pre-cook for at least 10 minues until its light brown, then pull out & add your toppings & cook as directed. It will be lighter, thoroughly cooked & NOT gummy. If you like it thicker - do it in a cast iron frying pan & cook a little longer. I do recommend making your own dough, but if you don't have the time, this works quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this exactly per the recipe. It was excellent. My family loved it and I will make it again. The only thing I might try next time is a pizza crust versus the bread dough, which I thought was a little soft -- but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this last night and it was incredible. I cooked mine in a cast iron frying pan and the double layers of goodies just oozed everywhere. I had never put the sauce directly on top- it was a hit. Thank you so much, Jaime5025!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is without question some of the best pizza I've ever eaten!! And it was cool to say that I made that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judipcook
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I've never been 100% satisfied with homemade pizza—until I found this recipe. I followed the instructions exactly, and the result was PIZZA PERFECTION.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We have been making pizza from scratch (dough and all) for about a year now. This is by far the best pizza of all. The only change was, we made our own crust and precooked our crust lik others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
The best deep-dish pizza we've had, especially since we can make it ourselves. My husband really liked it since it didn't have the usual tomato sauce on the crust. Awesome the next day too. Followed one of the chef's recommendations to re-heat in a skillet with a little loose foil on top. Delicious pizza! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I discovered this easy way to make our pizza last year. My family likes it rolled to fit large stone that has been, Sprinkled with dry cornmeal. I brush the olive oil on edges of dough & also pre-bake. Not the 15 minutes more like 10, since dough is thinner. Try tomato sauce instead of diced & fresh garlic, for a change. Suggested toppings onion, green pepper, diced ham & pineapple. I usually make half just like recipe & half w/the ham mixture. Thanks for putting on line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I do like the recipe's ingredients very much; however, using frozen bread dough as the crust & not having any tomato sauce (such as homemade from Roma tomatoes, or a good jar sauce) on top of the crust before adding the other terrific ingredients leads me to think this will not taste like a Chicago-style pizza that I love. It will be a very good pizza, of that I have no doubt; I love the fennel seed---very Italian addition, very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States