Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I live in Chicago & eat Chicago dogs all the time. Don't worry about not finding the sport peppers if you are in a different area, I think most people pick them off anyways cause they are spicy. Also, most hot dog stands here use Vienna hot dogs that should be in stores. They have a nice skin with a snap. They make for the best hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Born and raised in the shadows of Wrigley Field many decades ago, I can tell this is the correct and appropriate Chicago-style hot dog recipe. A couple of notes: when you are in the city and ordering a "dog", when they ask "what would you like on that?", it is appropriate to say "hey, drag that dog through the garden, would you?". As far as cucumber versus dill spear, this depends on the neighborhood. So if you always ordered at the same dog stand, you might not realize the stand about 20 miles away uses celery salt and a dill pickle. My suggestion: Try them wherever you go. Oh, and my thanks to Rachel Ray - the best thing for low-carb diets...the Chicago Style Hot Dog salad. I had these for a week when my husband was on a business trip, and I actually lost more than 5 pounds. Thanks Vienna Beef (hey, I think their outlet store is still on Damen Ave. Seconds are excellent!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mineral Point, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Ahhhh sweet home Chicago; one of the reasons I love this city. This is the ONLY way to eat a hot dog around here. And do not, do NOT ask for ketchup, ever! For those of you having trouble finding sport peppers, they're sold by other jarred pickle/pepper products. They range from a light to dark green, and are about the size of your pinkie. They CAN be spicy, depending on your spice tolerance, check out viennabeef.com and click on products until you find the sport peppers. It is true most people (aka tourists) pick them off anyways! But to each their own; you haven't experienced Chicago until you've had a true Chicago style hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best hot dog ive ever had in my entire life. I grilled the dogs, baked the buns and used pepponcini peppers instead of the sports peppers. omg!!!!yummy!!!! i will always use this recipe when preparing hotdogs! thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This "recipe" doesn't cut new ground, but if you're not in Chicago this is nice to have as a guideline for the required ingredients to assemble a Chicago Hot Dog properly at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These made our Super Bowl party complete! My husband is a Bears fan, so I wanted to have Chicago dogs for him and his friends, and they were a huge hit!! No one has ever heard of "sport peppers" in my area, but after some research, I found that Poblano peppers are pretty close, so that's what we used. Poppy seed hot dog buns are not available in my area, so I steamed regular buns and while they were still moist, rolled them in loose poppy seeds. These dogs were sooo good that we've now implemented them into our NASCAR get-togethers! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I hate hotdogs. Except for my beloved Gold Coast Dogs in Chicago. I lived there for years and had them for lunch, often. Then, we moved to Michigan. No more Gold Coast Dogs. So I searched and found this recipe. 100% perfect!! Just be sure to use an all beef Kosher type dog, rather than a small mix hotdog. There are times that a turkey-dog won't cut it and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Not being a pickle or pepper fanatic, I like mine with cucumber wedges instead of the pickles and peppers. For the record, I got a dog this way from a pushcart in Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Michalek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Chicago Dogs are a childhood favorite of mine since my family owned a restaurant that specialized in Vienna Beef Hot Dogs. They aren't a Chicago Dog without the celery salt and pepperocini peppers have the perfect flavor to top the dogs. Of course, they really aren't a hot dog, but a GOURMET hot dog...Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Navy Seabee Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A definate classic. You NEED the sport peppers, and the buns haee to be steamed. I tend to overdo it with the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States