Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
You nailed it. This is a Chicago dog, the only city in the world where a hotdog is an acceptable meal for an adult. My only concern is that the drink pairing is Reisling or Lemonade (don't know if these are user generated or what)... The ONLY thing to drink with a Chicago dog is a ice cold DOMESTIC beer, or if looking for that sporting event feel a luke warm beer in a plastic cup that you paid $8 for and half spilled out by the time the people next to you passed it to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibRAWRian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very good mix of ingredients. I hate hot dogs, but this makes them suprisingly pleasantly edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Love Chicago dogs!!!! I miss Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to add a bit of KICK to the ordinary hot dog...because that is what I had on hand. Boy, did I! This was it. I'm your everyday mustard, ketchup, relish on a dog kinda girl, so this was a stretch. This was pretty darn (wanting to use another word) GOOD! My husband referenced the meal many times that evening saying how surprisingly good it was! The best thing? The cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I am not a big hotdog fan. But, when I do eat them I really like them this way. I don't know what a sport pepper is and I don't add the relish. But, the mustard, dill pickle spear, and tomato are a must! It is a really great combination for a hotdog. And, if using a good soft bun, I just stick mine in the microwave for 10 seconds for ease. It has always worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Was fine without the sport peppers. Make sure to splurge on the poppy seed buns and you HAVE to have the celery salt, and an all beef hot dog such as vienna, klements, or hebrew national.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are the best! What a great idea to share a recipe like this. For those who are looking for sport peppers, try an Italian deli, you might have luck there. As many have mentioned, the hotdogs are Vienna Beef and the poppy seed buns are S. Rosen's Mary Ann Poppy Hotdog Bun. Vienna Beef has a store on their website and you can buy a Chicago Hot Dog kit there. Thanks to redhotcook for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I lived in chicago as a child and one bite took me back! These are delicious!! Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm not from Chicago, and I've honestly never been there, but I've eaten a lot of Chicago dogs. I thank my grandpa for this since he fell in love with them after spending a couple months in the Windy City. It's the only way I'll eat a hot dog anymore! Couldn't find the sports peppers. :( I had to go without, which would make my grandpa's head spin if he found that out! Veeeeeerrrrry delicious, I will be using this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tickyette
Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Omg! Thank You! Perfect recipe! My father's family is from Chicago and I remember going as a kid and having everyone freak when I asked for only ketchup on a hot dog in a hot dog joint there (I was only 10) When I was in college everyday my dad would bring me to get Chicago style hot dogs at a place in Houston and I fell in love! What was I thinking when I was a kid? Well now I make these in South America! The people here don't know what hit them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: La Paz, La Paz, Bolivia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States