Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is the ONLY way to have a hot dog! yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I'm from Chicago and this is the only way to eat a dog. Now living in central Ohio, I can't find poppy seed buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I made it for my dad and my uncle and it was a huge hit! I didn't use sport peppers though, I used pepperoncinis, but other than that, very successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Try the sport peppers even if you don't normally like spicy. I steam my buns by putting a splatter screen over the sauce pan while cooking the dogs. And I always add celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I love a Chicago style dog, but to me it's not a Chicago dog without a Vienna wiener. People that are saying this isn't good are probably using a mushy, bland Ball Park or Oscar Meyer beef frank, which doesn't make the grade. Those are fine if you are going to bury them in chili, cheese and onions, but the star of a Chicago dog ~is~ the dog! and all the other ingredients balance out the flavor spectrum by giving you sweet, hot, salty and sour. Now that is street gourmet perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
It's really sour. I like spicy or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
No offense, Chicago....but a footlong chili cheese dog can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was good. I couldn't find Poppyseed buns ANYWHERE though. I had never thought of putting peppers on a hot dog. That was our favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These are amazing! I used Nathan's hot dogs, which were perfect for these! Also, depending on the area you live in, poppy seed buns can be hard to find. I made my own: I just brushed some melted butter on plain hot dog buns, sprinkled poppy seeds on them, and toasted them in the oven for about 5 minutes. They turned out perfect! I also used mild sliced pepperoncinis, and they were wonderful on it. These dogs are the best when every ingredient is there, so don't be afraid to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
My hubby and I now own a Chicago themed restaurant in Omaha - Papa Chris' Chicago Originals - and we know how to make a dog! He's a 26 year native of the city. You really need a Vienna Beef frank to make it taste authentic but in a pinch use the highest quality National brand you can find at the supermarket. I recommend using Roma tomatoes -less juice - and slicing your tomato into at least 8 wedges for easier eating. This is a big bite kind of food. Also, mince your onions, nicer to eat than big chunks. If you don't own a steamer basket, you can nuke your bun in a plastic bag for 15-20 seconds and it will be soft and steamy. Sport peppers are NOT pepperoncini as someone reviewed but if you can't find the real thing, any small pickled pepper will do. If your new to Chicago dogs, this is the best way you will ever eat a hot dog! Remember, ketchup is only for fries, NOT Chicago dogs! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States