Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Absolutely Delicious!!! Makes me miss Chicago already...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Perfect recipe! I didn't have the poppy seed buns or sport peppers (whatever those are??) and I chose not to put sweet relish. Other than that... wow, perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by REVBUD
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
The recipe is wonderful; simple and direct, as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
The "real deal" Chicago dog uses a Vienna Beef frank, STEAMED not boiled, a steamed poppy seed bun, neon green relish, and whole sport peppers. I gave four stars because of the advice to boil the franks. The Vienna Beef franks have a natural casing that has just the right amount of "snap" to it when you bite in! The buns need to be steamed so that they are just almost mushy and soft. Plenty of mustard on TOP of the frank, not on the bun, a spear of pickle, and plenty of onions and relish make this dog incredible. Finally, slices of tomatoes are a requirement. Don't mess around with perfection - the good people of Chicago figured out the perfect dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have avoided this as being "too messy to eat" but wish I hadn't waited so long. I also wish I hadn't forgotten the celery salt because I was really trying to make as close to the recipe as possible...for me. I used another hot pepper because I couldn't find sport peppers and a veggie dog (as usual) since I don't eat hotdogs. I loved it. In my opinion the pickle wedge adds something that regular relish cannot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Nice recipe! This was very easy to prepare. We used the low fat Hebrew National beef hot dogs, and this still was a hit. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
We loved this recipe! I'm in Indiana and I couldn't find the sport peppers or the poppy seed buns. :( We will definately be using this recipe over and over! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Made me love hot dogs! These have become my favorite late-night guilty pleasure. I can't find sport peppers or poppyseed buns locally and I don't want to pay to have them shipped. I've taken the advice of other reviewers and am rolling my steamed buns in poppy seeds. Since they don't stick all that well, I also sprinkle some inside the bun. For the peppers, I'm cutting up pickled hot peppers. If you are a Southerner like me, what I'm using are the same Tabasco type peppers we bottle in vinegar to make pepper sauce for greens. I can't compare, but I sure like my results. I never would have thought to put celery salt on a hot dog, but I love this added flavor. To make it easier to eat, I'm chopping everything up more than the recipe calls for and then sprinkling it all with the celery salt. Finally, I'm taking an easy and quick shortcut by steaming both the hot dog and the bun, separately, of course, in the microwave. It's faster and easier than boiling and steaming on the stove. To do this, I just wrap them in wet paper towels and put them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I couldn't find any poppyseed buns so I just sprinkled poppyseeds inside the buns. I also used celery seed in place of the celery salt because that's what I had on hand. A nice change from the regular hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
As a lifelong resident of the Chicago area, I can honestly say that THIS is the ONLY version of a true Chicago Style Hot Dog. There are NO variations. Grilling the dogs, baking the buns, pepperoncini instead of sport peppers are all variations; nothing can be substituted and still be considered Chicago Style. VIENNA Dogs are boiled (Or steamed), buns always steamed, poppyseed buns are the only way. When I make these at home, I put the onions on the bun before the hot dog, that keeps them from falling off when I eat them. Great recipe, try them for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All-American Burger Dog

Want something deliciously different for the grill? Burger dog to the rescue!

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States