Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I'm from Chicago also. This recipe is almost how I make them. I was taught to steam the hot dogs for 5 minutes. Remove and place in bun return to steamer basket for 30 sec to 1 min. I live in the south now and do not have access to vienna beef dogs or sport peppers. I settle for Nathan's hot dogs and pepperocini peppers. I also stock up on sport peppers when I visit or have visitors bring me some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
i didn't have poppyseed buns and was too lazy to make my own, desperate for the spicy deliciousness of this dog. YUMMO. Amazing. And I don't use that word-highly overused. perfect marriage of sweet,spicy,beefy yumminess. I ate 2. So good. My first experience with these was at a steak n shake/sonic visit a year ago and I loved the concept. I did add cucumber as a true Chicago dog boasts these tidbits, but beyond that - followed recipe to a T. Thank you. Craving fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I consider myself a foodie, but sometimes I just want a junk food fix. A Chicago dog hits the spot every time! The sport peppers might be tough to find though. I had to go to three stores--none at Kroger or Walmart, but found them near the olives at Marsh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Really liked this recipe. Somehow I missed getting a Chicago style hot dog when I was actually in Chicago last year so I decided to try this at home. Husband wouldn't touch it, due to the veggies. However, for me, it was a great way to sneak a bunch of veggies into an otherwise unhealthy hot dog dinner. And the taste was great! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I really like the Chicago-style dogs,which got me thinking (and tinkering)with what other combos would work well together.I used wasabi instead of mustard and the peppers,and table salt on the tomatoes instead of celery salt,enjoyed it this way,also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Hanna
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These hot dogs are amazing, although I've tried twice, I haven't been able to find poppyseed buns or sport peppers. So I guess I haven't really experienced the Chicago Dog in all its splendor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is right on. However, my hubby ate them across from Riverview Park some 70 years ago, and he insists they have to be Vienna Hotdogs, and that the "sport peppers" didn't exist then; it was pepperoncinis. We never heard of sport peppers until this discussion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
We love them in Australia ! Never had them before ! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Soooo good! Would never have thought to put al this on a hot dog. Can't see that I'l have them any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Chef John's Hot Dog Sausages

Ready for a hotdog-inspired sausage hybrid? This recipe is for you!

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States