Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I really like the Chicago-style dogs,which got me thinking (and tinkering)with what other combos would work well together.I used wasabi instead of mustard and the peppers,and table salt on the tomatoes instead of celery salt,enjoyed it this way,also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Hanna
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These hot dogs are amazing, although I've tried twice, I haven't been able to find poppyseed buns or sport peppers. So I guess I haven't really experienced the Chicago Dog in all its splendor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is right on. However, my hubby ate them across from Riverview Park some 70 years ago, and he insists they have to be Vienna Hotdogs, and that the "sport peppers" didn't exist then; it was pepperoncinis. We never heard of sport peppers until this discussion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
We love them in Australia ! Never had them before ! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Soooo good! Would never have thought to put al this on a hot dog. Can't see that I'l have them any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
How else would you eat a hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my2shelties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
We love making these! I always serve the ingredients chopped up in bowls so each person can 'dress' their own dog to their liking. (of course, best is made as-written, but not everyone in the family likes all the ingredients) I can't find sport peppers locally so I chop up some good pepperoncini peppers and they work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great hot dogs! Sorry but I still have to have ketchup along with some jalapeno peppers on a dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I am retired and now sell Hot Dogs at lunch time. The Chicago Dog is a very good hot dog combination. My comment is, READ ABOVE "the ingredients must be put on in the exact order". Me personally, I start with the dog on the bun, then build from there. Some of my customers ask me to build it a certain way. I DON"T CARE. it's their dog. It's the ingredients that make the taste, not the order. (Although, some look nicer to eat than others)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States