Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Not being a pickle or pepper fanatic, I like mine with cucumber wedges instead of the pickles and peppers. For the record, I got a dog this way from a pushcart in Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Ugly Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best hot dog ive ever had in my entire life. I grilled the dogs, baked the buns and used pepponcini peppers instead of the sports peppers. omg!!!!yummy!!!! i will always use this recipe when preparing hotdogs! thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is the only way to eat a hot-dog! Only you must use vienna beef, and I prefer to use a dill spear with a dash of celery salt... the best hot-dog stand I have ever eaten from sits right outside the Shed Aqurium in Chicago and this is how they do it! I live near Wrigly and they do it more like this recipe, so I think either way is correct... it's just a personal preference. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
We make these again and again - no other hot dog will do! Tastes just like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
We make these all the time. Love them. Even the vegetarian daughters love them...use tofu dogs for them, regular dogs for me and the boys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Good dogs! Can't find poppy seed buns here in Central CA. Use French bagget type breads cut to size. They're better suited to standing up to all the "stuff". Not much on sweet relish. Peppers in question... I dunno. We use pepperonccini peppers. Also some kind of good cheese and maybe... chili!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I live in Chicago & eat Chicago dogs all the time. Don't worry about not finding the sport peppers if you are in a different area, I think most people pick them off anyways cause they are spicy. Also, most hot dog stands here use Vienna hot dogs that should be in stores. They have a nice skin with a snap. They make for the best hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I never thought that i could have a hot dog without ketchup. I'm also not a big fan or pickles or onions but this hot dog changed me. I loved this hot dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is by far the best hot dog I have ever had. I love how the flavors taste all mixed together even though I really did not think I would like it. My husband who doesn't like relish loved it and my daughter who doesn't like any kind of peppers loved it as well. This is a KEEPER. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Justice Bovee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Excellent! Sounds weird, but they are really good. We add sliced cucumbers with everything else ~ I like mine with banana peppers and my husband likes his with jalapenos. Sometimes we make on wheat buns or hoagie rolls. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States