Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The only bad thing about this recipe is that the dog needs to be Vienna Beef. True Chicago has a topping style but a Chicago dog is the brand Vienna Beef- not just any beef dog. Also, never grill a Chicago dog save that for the east coast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I love hot dogs like this. I first had them on the Navy Pier while visiting Chicago. I can't get some of the ingrediants near me. Like sport peppers and poppy seed hot dog buns. I've tried other things, but they never quite match the great flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Best way to eat a dog. Celery salt, fresh tomatos and a poppy seed bun are the key,,,, and never ever use ketchup never : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Just like you get at Vienna Beef! For the record you can get an authentic Chicago-Style in Milwaukee @ Sammy's. But making them at home is great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I left out the celery salt because Hebrew National franks are salty enough and I only had hamburger buns, but this was still delicious! Great flavors all together adding more veggies to a hot dog! Definately no ketchup needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were great, much better than a ketchup covered hotdog. I'm not familiar with sport peppers, but I used hot peppers and it was delicious. Celery salt is strong so go easy on it. I will definatly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
The first time I got one of these wonderful Dogs was on Washington Island in Wisconsin at a little food stand and I ate 3 of them! Everytime we go there I HAVE to stop and eat 3 of them! We now make them at home after searching hard for some of the Ingredients! I would not eat a Dog any other way!!! We dont make them that often because I eat so many of them! They are SOOOOOOOO GOOOOODDD! Dont feel bad if you eat a few like I do. Just run an extra Mile tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I was born and raised in Illinois and remember Super Dogs as delicious. Made these for a 4th of July picnic. I couldn't find all the ingredients called for in Arkansas. I had to substitute Hebrew National ¼ pound beef franks and hogie rolls. The rolls were too stiff, but I can't hold the recipe at fault there. All and all they were very good and got great reviews. I did add sour kraut which I personally think make the dish. I'll make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Being born, raised and still living in chicago, i've got this recipe engrained in my mind. this is the only way that a hot dog should be eaten. i shudder seening people put ketcup on hot dogs! never never never! ever! oh and to the person who wondered if the vienna beef outlet was still on daman ave..it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Very good .... I followed your recipe to the "T". I'll make those again ! Just like I remembered !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States