Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
My husband said these were better than any other hot dog he ever had. I made them pre Father's Day. He actually ate 3 of them. I had 2 and I'm supposed to be on a diet. We had the Chicago Sport's Peppers already so that was great. Thanks for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Bonck
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very good, the taste took me back to chicago airports where they sell these delicious hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Truly delicious! I couldn't find poppy-seed buns or "sport" peppers so had to use regular buns and pepperoncini, but the dogs were still awesome! All of the toppings and the celery salt just make it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Photo by odiy
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
First Recipe I tried from this website and I absolutley loved it! I did grill my bun and dog, and didnt have sports peppers, but never the less, was still an excellent tasting dog. Nice crisp cool taste to it. The wife took her first bite and goes "yeah its alright, tastes like a hot dog" When she was done she said she wanted another one. I go "thought it just tasted like a regular hot dog?" Her reply " Each bite after the first one got better and better" Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odiy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Yum! Being from Ohio and having never traveled to Chicago, this was my first time having a Chicago-style dog. Absolutely fantastic. My daughter loves these and asks for them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My fave way to eat a hot dog...before it was just Ketchup/Mustard Onions...or maybe Onions and Sauerkraut. Sheesh, what was I thinking?! The Chicago dog is SO flavorful...and putting them together is really an Art more than a Science. In my area, I've had problems locating Sport Peppers and Poppy Seed Buns...so to substitute, I use Sliced Pepperoncini's and Potato Bread Buns. Don't know where to get Vienna Beef Dogs, but Boar's Head pinch hits just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
A definate classic. You NEED the sport peppers, and the buns haee to be steamed. I tend to overdo it with the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
There is NO other way to eat a hot dog. We always use Vienna beef dogs. And no ketchup, never ever never! In my opinion, if you visit Chicago you must eat an Italian beef from Taylor Street, deep dish pizza from Giordanos, Garrett popcorn and a Chicago Style Hot Dog. With this recipe, you can bring a bit of Chicago to you if visiting is not possible. Do be sure to use the poppy seed bun, it won't be the same without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The only bad thing about this recipe is that the dog needs to be Vienna Beef. True Chicago has a topping style but a Chicago dog is the brand Vienna Beef- not just any beef dog. Also, never grill a Chicago dog save that for the east coast. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States