Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
delish! perfect especially if you have all the stuff on hand. I wasn't sure what sports peppers were so I used sliced banana peppers. I melted some butter and sprinkled some poppy seed in then rubbed my hot dog bun in it and toasted it in the oven for a couple min. Worked just fine for me. Fun way to eat a hot dog!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I leave this rating not because it was bad, but because it is well.... i don't even know. I would make them again. I can see maybe once a year or so. Dogs come in so many varieties subject to culture and geography. Just look at this and Martinsville, VA. as contrasts. I guess I can simply say as far as "Dawgs" go.. I am just glad to be from the South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
AWESOME! I can't believe how yummy this was...hubby gave it two thumbs up and I agree! The flavors just went together perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't try this recipe sooner. I will most definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
OMG! I have lived in Chicago for 60 years, and This Is It! We have traveled around the country and have found "Chicago Style Hot Dogs" in many places with Ketchup, Mustard and Relish. What are they thinking? It's not really that hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is the ONLY way to eat a hot dog. Remember NO ketchup. Not allowed in Chicago especially on your hot dog. This is one of the things I love about my old home place. I still have to have one every time I go back for a visit. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
AMEN to all the reviews and I want to ditto by saying that the dog is so much better (and most original) when it snaps! You ain't never tasted a dog til you tasted a Chicago dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is how we've always made them for this Chicago-suburb gal's family. As a military family, I get lots of reactions to some of these toppings, but this is how they should be eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Aaaaahhhh yes. A Chicago street corner vendor with a Chicago dog and a Chicago tamale. Use to order the Chicago tamales and have them shipped here to FL but can't find the company any more. Also, to cut down on the salt, I use celery seed. Not a perfect match but, it gets the taste about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Absolutely all the ingredients in a Chicago style hot dog. Just made one for me tonight and plain dogs for the grandkids. They'll grow into the Chicago dogs later. But if you check out Rachel Ray's Chicago Hot Dog Salad, she uses cabbage slaw and says that it is part of the Chicago dog. No way. Though her salad is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Oh how I miss Chicago Dogs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Chef John's Hot Dog Sausages

Ready for a hotdog-inspired sausage hybrid? This recipe is for you!

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States