Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I had a layover in Chicago on my way to Tacoma and was very hungry. I was going to chose McDonald's but saw a hot dog stand instead. I am from the South so I have never seen one except on TV. So I decided to try it and asked for ketchup and mustard.....needless to say, I didn't get that, but I did get a "where are you from???" The gentleman made me a "Chicago Style" hot-dog and I have not had ketchup on a hot dog in the last 3 years. It's the best!! No one comes close! I make mine exactly like this recipe....minus the peppers, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I'm born and raised in Chicago and in my 75 years I've eaten more Chicago Style hot dogs than I can remember. Your recipe is right on. If you want it to be perfect, use Vienna Beef hot dogs. One bite and you'll think you're in Wrigleyville! (that's what they serve). Someone wrote in and said to use Kosher hot dogs. Ugh! They are obviously not from Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Superb!!! Never thought a hot dog could be this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yum! enough said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You've got it right! I was born and raised in Chicago, and now live in Ohio, where I have to make my own Chicago hot dogs. These are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berlin Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
delish! perfect especially if you have all the stuff on hand. I wasn't sure what sports peppers were so I used sliced banana peppers. I melted some butter and sprinkled some poppy seed in then rubbed my hot dog bun in it and toasted it in the oven for a couple min. Worked just fine for me. Fun way to eat a hot dog!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I leave this rating not because it was bad, but because it is well.... i don't even know. I would make them again. I can see maybe once a year or so. Dogs come in so many varieties subject to culture and geography. Just look at this and Martinsville, VA. as contrasts. I guess I can simply say as far as "Dawgs" go.. I am just glad to be from the South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
AWESOME! I can't believe how yummy this was...hubby gave it two thumbs up and I agree! The flavors just went together perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't try this recipe sooner. I will most definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
OMG! I have lived in Chicago for 60 years, and This Is It! We have traveled around the country and have found "Chicago Style Hot Dogs" in many places with Ketchup, Mustard and Relish. What are they thinking? It's not really that hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is the ONLY way to eat a hot dog. Remember NO ketchup. Not allowed in Chicago especially on your hot dog. This is one of the things I love about my old home place. I still have to have one every time I go back for a visit. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States