Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
If you can get Vienna beef hotdogs, all the better. I'm from Chicago, and this is the only way to eat a hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My husband started traveling to Ch. about a year ago would come home raving about these dogs. Thanks for the recipe. Couldn't find sports peppers here, but he brought some home recently. I'm a vegetarian but when i make for him i have all but dog and i enjoy it. Oh i also haven't been able to find poppy seed buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I lived in Chicago for a year and I was BROKE! One of the few things I could afford when I wanted to treat myself was a Chicago dog and fries. Talk about bang for your buck! This recipe looks perfect! Thanks for submitting--I hadn't known that the secret to the soft bun was steaming it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Vienna hot dogs are a must. They are the only one's that give you the true taste. Steamed buns and the celery salt make them just like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I had a layover in Chicago on my way to Tacoma and was very hungry. I was going to chose McDonald's but saw a hot dog stand instead. I am from the South so I have never seen one except on TV. So I decided to try it and asked for ketchup and mustard.....needless to say, I didn't get that, but I did get a "where are you from???" The gentleman made me a "Chicago Style" hot-dog and I have not had ketchup on a hot dog in the last 3 years. It's the best!! No one comes close! I make mine exactly like this recipe....minus the peppers, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife2248

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I'm born and raised in Chicago and in my 75 years I've eaten more Chicago Style hot dogs than I can remember. Your recipe is right on. If you want it to be perfect, use Vienna Beef hot dogs. One bite and you'll think you're in Wrigleyville! (that's what they serve). Someone wrote in and said to use Kosher hot dogs. Ugh! They are obviously not from Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Superb!!! Never thought a hot dog could be this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yum! enough said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
You've got it right! I was born and raised in Chicago, and now live in Ohio, where I have to make my own Chicago hot dogs. These are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Berlin Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
delish! perfect especially if you have all the stuff on hand. I wasn't sure what sports peppers were so I used sliced banana peppers. I melted some butter and sprinkled some poppy seed in then rubbed my hot dog bun in it and toasted it in the oven for a couple min. Worked just fine for me. Fun way to eat a hot dog!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States