Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I lived close enough to Chicago to enjoy a Chicago dog every now and again. However this recipe is the closest I have ever come to that taste without a visit to ChiTown. It is difficult to find poppy seed buns in the area I current live but when I do, I use this recipe to take me back. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love the recipe just as it is when I am out and about and I buy one from a stand. However when I make these at home I like to leave off the sweet relish because it over powers every thing else in my own opinion. Other than that, I love love love this style of hot dog. Its my main go to hot dog topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittykat2233

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Have made many times now, just as recipe is written. Yum, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
We used Hebrew National Beef hot dogs, the flavor was delicious! I looked all over Fargo, ND for the Vienna Beef, but struck out. Also, I had to put in a special order for the poppy seed buns at a "real" bakery. Worth the one day delay! Everyone enjoyed them! Thanks for all of the advice with substitutions in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Reminded me of Chicago. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love Chicago dogs! The poppyseed bun is really good but hard-to-find. I can find sport peppers at a place called World Market. To me, the sport peppers and the celery salt is what makes the Chicago dog great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Had this the other day. sooooooo freakin good!!!!! Substituted the sport pepper with banana peppers as that is what i had on hand. was so fabulous. num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I'm from Chicago also. This recipe is almost how I make them. I was taught to steam the hot dogs for 5 minutes. Remove and place in bun return to steamer basket for 30 sec to 1 min. I live in the south now and do not have access to vienna beef dogs or sport peppers. I settle for Nathan's hot dogs and pepperocini peppers. I also stock up on sport peppers when I visit or have visitors bring me some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
i didn't have poppyseed buns and was too lazy to make my own, desperate for the spicy deliciousness of this dog. YUMMO. Amazing. And I don't use that word-highly overused. perfect marriage of sweet,spicy,beefy yumminess. I ate 2. So good. My first experience with these was at a steak n shake/sonic visit a year ago and I loved the concept. I did add cucumber as a true Chicago dog boasts these tidbits, but beyond that - followed recipe to a T. Thank you. Craving fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States