Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Reminded me of Chicago. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love Chicago dogs! The poppyseed bun is really good but hard-to-find. I can find sport peppers at a place called World Market. To me, the sport peppers and the celery salt is what makes the Chicago dog great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Had this the other day. sooooooo freakin good!!!!! Substituted the sport pepper with banana peppers as that is what i had on hand. was so fabulous. num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I'm from Chicago also. This recipe is almost how I make them. I was taught to steam the hot dogs for 5 minutes. Remove and place in bun return to steamer basket for 30 sec to 1 min. I live in the south now and do not have access to vienna beef dogs or sport peppers. I settle for Nathan's hot dogs and pepperocini peppers. I also stock up on sport peppers when I visit or have visitors bring me some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
i didn't have poppyseed buns and was too lazy to make my own, desperate for the spicy deliciousness of this dog. YUMMO. Amazing. And I don't use that word-highly overused. perfect marriage of sweet,spicy,beefy yumminess. I ate 2. So good. My first experience with these was at a steak n shake/sonic visit a year ago and I loved the concept. I did add cucumber as a true Chicago dog boasts these tidbits, but beyond that - followed recipe to a T. Thank you. Craving fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I consider myself a foodie, but sometimes I just want a junk food fix. A Chicago dog hits the spot every time! The sport peppers might be tough to find though. I had to go to three stores--none at Kroger or Walmart, but found them near the olives at Marsh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyHoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Really liked this recipe. Somehow I missed getting a Chicago style hot dog when I was actually in Chicago last year so I decided to try this at home. Husband wouldn't touch it, due to the veggies. However, for me, it was a great way to sneak a bunch of veggies into an otherwise unhealthy hot dog dinner. And the taste was great! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I really like the Chicago-style dogs,which got me thinking (and tinkering)with what other combos would work well together.I used wasabi instead of mustard and the peppers,and table salt on the tomatoes instead of celery salt,enjoyed it this way,also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States