Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
AWESOME! I can't believe how yummy this was...hubby gave it two thumbs up and I agree! The flavors just went together perfectly. My only regret is that I didn't try this recipe sooner. I will most definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
OMG! I have lived in Chicago for 60 years, and This Is It! We have traveled around the country and have found "Chicago Style Hot Dogs" in many places with Ketchup, Mustard and Relish. What are they thinking? It's not really that hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is the ONLY way to eat a hot dog. Remember NO ketchup. Not allowed in Chicago especially on your hot dog. This is one of the things I love about my old home place. I still have to have one every time I go back for a visit. YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
AMEN to all the reviews and I want to ditto by saying that the dog is so much better (and most original) when it snaps! You ain't never tasted a dog til you tasted a Chicago dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is how we've always made them for this Chicago-suburb gal's family. As a military family, I get lots of reactions to some of these toppings, but this is how they should be eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Aaaaahhhh yes. A Chicago street corner vendor with a Chicago dog and a Chicago tamale. Use to order the Chicago tamales and have them shipped here to FL but can't find the company any more. Also, to cut down on the salt, I use celery seed. Not a perfect match but, it gets the taste about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Absolutely all the ingredients in a Chicago style hot dog. Just made one for me tonight and plain dogs for the grandkids. They'll grow into the Chicago dogs later. But if you check out Rachel Ray's Chicago Hot Dog Salad, she uses cabbage slaw and says that it is part of the Chicago dog. No way. Though her salad is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Oh how I miss Chicago Dogs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Holy mother of hotdog! These were excellent. A bit different, and a lot more kick than a standard dog, which is quite alright by me. I did use pepperoncini peppers, as I haven't seen 'sports' peppers before. I made Mike's Signature Pretzel Bread into hotdog buns for these, and was not disappointed. Great pairing. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I was leary on trying this, as Im in Nebraska, and used to regular hotdogs or chili dogs. Had no idea about pickles, tomatoes, etc! But It was really good! Odd but everything accented each other! Didnt have the sport peppers so we ate without. Think this is how im going to be eating my dogs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States