Chicago-Style Hot Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
The perfect 4th of July recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I use Oscar Meyer all beef angus selects. This recipe makes for a great Chicago dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I lived close enough to Chicago to enjoy a Chicago dog every now and again. However this recipe is the closest I have ever come to that taste without a visit to ChiTown. It is difficult to find poppy seed buns in the area I current live but when I do, I use this recipe to take me back. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I love the recipe just as it is when I am out and about and I buy one from a stand. However when I make these at home I like to leave off the sweet relish because it over powers every thing else in my own opinion. Other than that, I love love love this style of hot dog. Its my main go to hot dog topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittykat2233

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Have made many times now, just as recipe is written. Yum, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
We used Hebrew National Beef hot dogs, the flavor was delicious! I looked all over Fargo, ND for the Vienna Beef, but struck out. Also, I had to put in a special order for the poppy seed buns at a "real" bakery. Worth the one day delay! Everyone enjoyed them! Thanks for all of the advice with substitutions in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Reminded me of Chicago. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love Chicago dogs! The poppyseed bun is really good but hard-to-find. I can find sport peppers at a place called World Market. To me, the sport peppers and the celery salt is what makes the Chicago dog great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Had this the other day. sooooooo freakin good!!!!! Substituted the sport pepper with banana peppers as that is what i had on hand. was so fabulous. num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Chef John's Hot Dog Sausages

Ready for a hotdog-inspired sausage hybrid? This recipe is for you!

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States