Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Dip was OK, but similar dip on back of Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix is far superior. Proportion of sour cream to mayo in that recipe is 2 to 1, so it does not have an overwhelming mayo taste. The secret to keeping dip from being runny is to squeeze as much water out of the spinach as possible. I use paper towels for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I made this for a baby shower and it was awesome!! I just served it with vegetable crackers and ritz crackers. Everyone was lingering around the table munching and raving about this dip! I did change quite a few things, however, sortof "made it my own". I added half a can of very finely chopped water chestnuts, only 1/2 cup each of sour cream and mayo, sprinkled in some parmesan cheese and added an 8 oz. container of cream cheese and an extra couple of drops of lemon juice. In addition to the seasoned salt, I sprinkled in some McCormick's vegetable seasoning, since I couldn't find any Knorr's. Oh, and I only added 1/4 cup of green onions. Yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
WOW! I served this last night to my guests and it was gone way before the end of the night! Everyone commented on how good it was, I used MaMa D's Italian bread recipe (on this site) for the bowl because the crust is so hard, and used the French Bread recipe (also on this site)for dipping. It's a great recipe Tracy, THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Always a hit! I make this for every potluck or party and there's never enough to go around! So many variations on ways to serve this dip. I've served it with cubed sourdough, pumpernickel, Asiago cheese bread, cocktail rye, or even whole wheat crackers. Even the dip in the veggie tray is usually passed over for this. This dip even works with reduced fat sour cream and mayonnaise. I also add garlic powder, a little white pepper, and on the suggestion of other posters, water chestnuts. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This recipe was awesome! I added a small container of light cream cheese and halved the mayo and sour cream. I also added some chopped water chestnuts. I only tried a little bit beofre I took it to a party but I wanted to grab a big spoon at attack. It was a huge hit at the party, people wanted to know where I bought it and they were amazed when i said I made it. There were no leftovers and it was a party of girls only. Thanks for a great recipe. A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I had big raves over this but I listened to other reviewers and added items. I doubled the recipe because I was feeding a big crowd and added 8oz cream cheese, a can of chopped water chestnuts, two packages of Lipton vegetable soup/dip mix, cut back half on the mayo and sour cream and also on the green onion. I thought it was delicious right after mixing it but I let it set over night and it had too strong a spinach taste for me so I added more mayo and it snapped back just the way I wanted it and people were very complimentary. One comment was "delicious times ten". Will definitely make this again right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I was a bit leary about making this, as the ingredients did not sound that exciting. But with all the positive feedback I had to try. I made the dip and licked the spoon before I put it in the dishwasher. WOW.....was I surprised. It was so good. I can't wait to try now that it has been in the fridge most of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I made this for a party and it turned out great. I couldn't find a bread bowl but it works great as a veggie dip too. Make sure to refrigerate to allow the flavors to blend. I refrigerated mine for about 8 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Brought this to a baby shower and it was fantastic! Got lots of compliments. I used 2 of the small containers of spinich so it wasn't too mayo-ish. It also made more by adding the extra spinich. It takes only about 10 min. to whip up and I served it with the hawaiian bread bowls you can buy in the deli section of supermarkets. I cut out the middle and put crackers and the bread chunks on the outside and let people use those two to eat with the dip. I also made homemade hawaiian bread found on this website as extra bread for the dip and it was a hit as well. Thanks a bunch! Priscilla P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Good stuff. Although this recipe is easier than my mom's recipe, hers has more taste. I think I'll stick with her version but thanks anyways!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States