Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
this is such a quick and easy dip to prepare and inexpensive. I love the fact that it can be tweaked to taste. I've had similar recipes but this was the first time I had it with the lemon and it really adds a nice flavor. I used 2 packs of TrueLemon instead of the juice. Omitted the season salt and added some garlic powder, dried dill weed, and used fresh chopped parsley. I did add a tad bit of salt. I did not find it soupy at all; just squeezed out the spinach real well. If making for a larger crowd, you may want to double it, as I am sure this would go fast. Plan to serve with pumpernickel slices and skip using a breadbowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is an excellent spinach dip -- make sure not to skimp by using low-fat mayo or sour cream, it really diminishes the taste. I make this for all my parties and it is always completely gone (including the bread bowl!) by the end of evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This recipe was great! My husband loves spinach dip, and he thought this one was great! I did make a few adjustments: I doubled the sour cream and put in a little less mayo. I also added a package of Knorr's veggie soup mix. I suggest making this at least a day ahead because it definitely tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
yummy!!!! I decreased the sour cream & mayo both to 1/2 cup, and added a 8 oz. of softened cream cheese. I served with Kings Hawiaan Bread (YUM!!) @ work. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I loved this dip. It is very similar to the spinach dip I buy in the grocery in the deli. I will never buy it again though. I would rather make this. I will put more spinach in it next time because there seemed to be too much sour cream and may in comparison to the spinach, but it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I didn't have any sour cream on hand, so I substituted plain Greek style yogurt, which worked well. I also didn't have any green onions, so I omitted those. I added a half teaspoon of caraway seeds to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
It was just okay....not a big crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Canerdy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was excellent! I took the advice of adding the dry onion soup mix and it really added an extra "umph." Great recipe and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
My guest went wild for this dip! I added a bit more spinach, some dill weed, and an extra shot of lemon juice. It was perfect. To make a pretty party tray, here's what I did. Instead of using the bread bowl, I hollowed out a head of purple cabbage and served it in it. I arranged other dips around it in hollowed out green and red peppers. I also used the large outer leaves of the purple cabbage to serve slaw on, using the insides of the hollowed cabbage. I outlined the tray in crackers and party breads. Everyone was impressed and I was very proud of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Good--not great. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States