Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great easy recipe to make ahead of time for a gathering. Good spinach dip - excellent with bread cubes or with vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Did NOT go over well.....It was kind of gross...I think the mixture of mayo and sour cream just didn't taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Made it exactly as specified, except for the spices, since I didn't have "seasoning salt" so I winged it. It turned out excellent! I served as an appetizer at a small dinner party I hosted and people were saying how good it was and asking how to make it. So easy, looks very pretty in the bread bowl and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
my first attempt at a spinach dip for an appetizer party. I altered it slightly by adding 1/2 cup of cream cheese to the sour cream and mayo. It was awesome, esp. when we warmed it up the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I adore spinach dip but between the fat and the salt, I can't have it very often. I made this using light/fat free mayo and sour cream, salt substitute and garlic powder. Fantastic. I also have made it both with water chestnuts added and diced jicama for added crunch appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is YUM and addictive, although I have to admit I added at least 3 cloves of garlic and made my own mayonnaise. But this is simple, fast and easy and always, ALWAYS disappears fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missfick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is an always requested party appetizer! It is a wonderful dip cold. I have made a few changes: I added a large tub of whipped cream cheese and a large bunch of chopped cilantro to give it a more fragrant flavor. It is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I love this dip. I have been making it for years now, and it has become an old standby for me. It's always gobbled up at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
this is such a quick and easy dip to prepare and inexpensive. I love the fact that it can be tweaked to taste. I've had similar recipes but this was the first time I had it with the lemon and it really adds a nice flavor. I used 2 packs of TrueLemon instead of the juice. Omitted the season salt and added some garlic powder, dried dill weed, and used fresh chopped parsley. I did add a tad bit of salt. I did not find it soupy at all; just squeezed out the spinach real well. If making for a larger crowd, you may want to double it, as I am sure this would go fast. Plan to serve with pumpernickel slices and skip using a breadbowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States