Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
got lots of compliments! I added chopped water chestnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christines Comfort Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Huge hit at any party! Friends will ask you to make this over and over again when invited to another party! So easy to make and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Not the best I had but pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Simply amazing. Served warm, I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was pretty good. There's a little too much mayo I think, but it was perfect for a veggie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Not bad... I didn't read the reviews before I started (oops!) I had to add extra sour cream to cut down the over-powering mayo-ness. I also added garlic powder and pepper. But it's a really good "starter recipe", like you can make it your own really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was very good considering that it's all made with standard kitchen ingredients. I tried to follow the recipe, but it was definitely bland for our taste so I added a few extra spices (Garlic and onion powder, white pepper, cracked black pepper and most importantly Mrs. Dash!) I also followed other reviewers advice to use more lemon juice, increase sour cream to 1.5 cups and decrease mayo to 1/2 cup. I'll make this again in a pinch, but I'll probably spice it up a little more with a few shakes of hot sauce :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good! I cut the mayo in half after reading the other reviews. Went very well with ritz crackers and super easy too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I made this recipe for a bridal shower for 20 women. It was a hit. I served it cold in the bread bowl on a tray with bread, crackers, small tomatoes, celery, peppers, and carrots. A previous reviewer mentioned that it was difficult to get the water out of the spinach. I put the spinach in a strainer and put pressure on top of the spinach (which worked for me). This dip tastes great and is super easy to make. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
So i can't exactly give this this a fair rating because i changed it, so this rating is based on how i changed it. I cut both the mayo and sour cream in half and added cream cheese. The dip tasted way too much of cream cheese, too strong for my tastes, although everyone else seemed to enjoy the dip. I also couldn't taste the spinach as strongly as i would have hoped, i even added a whole 16oz bag instead of 10! The longest part of making this recipe was trying to get all of the water out of the spinach, it was INCREDIBLY time consuming!!! although, i wasnt sure how to get the water out, so i kept using paper towel after paper towel to dry the spinach...i should have left the spinach out for a whole day instead of half a day. Not sure i'll be making this dip again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiwiOz0708

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States