Chicago Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
What a great way to make kids eat spinach! I added one cup of fresh spinach leaves and it gave the dip an extra "crunch". Also followed the other reviews and added cream cheese and less mayo and sour cream. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I added garlic powder and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Good recipe but it was definitely better the second day. I would also add some water chestnuts for crunch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Too much of a mayo taste. I'm sure I can fix it and make it good but not worth the energy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this for my baby shower last year. It was so good, we ate all the leftovers! I also made it again for a pot luck at work and served it with Ritz crackers -- it was devoured! I added chopped water chestnuts. They add a good "crunch" to the dip. I also used low-fat and fat-free ingredients, as it doesn't change the flavor so much as it does the calories. Will always make this as a party dip from now on. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I have to say that I wasn't a huge fan of this dip. I think it was because the mayonnaise flavor was too overwhelming. I modified it a little bit and omitted the green onions, just because I'm not a big green onion person in general. I did add some chopped up shredded carrots. If I ever make this again (which I don't think I will), it needs more flavor, maybe garlic powder, or something to cut the mayo taste. Stacy's Parmesan Garlic & Herb pita chips were great to dip, they really added some of that flavor that was missing in the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amster8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Over the years, I guess I've become accustomed to those gloppy, water chestnut-laden, onion soup salt licks posing as spinach dips. This dip delivers all that mineral-y freshness one expects upon eating dark leafy greens with the added brightness of lemon. Don't need and won't miss all the sodium. And p.s. -- using flash-wilted fresh spinach and reduced fat products just increases the health benefits. So it's ok to indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Great dip. I used creamed spinich and didn't need to drain any liquid since it was creamed. I also added a few shakes of garlic salt and onion powder. I didn't like the way it tasted with the bread, but it was excellent with ruffles chips. I will use this recipie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is very good and simple to make. I used fresh spinach each time, and low fat EVOO mayo. It is a light dip and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Use a round Dark Pumpernickel bread. The flavors really compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States