Chi Tan T'ang (Egg Drop Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Forgot to buy cornstarch, and left out the vinegar. We loved it! But this recipe really only makes 4 servings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I love this recipe for the simplicity of it. However, the vinegar and soy sauce threw the taste off for us. So I just left the vinegar and soy sauce out and it was spectacular. Thanks so much for posting the recipe, without it, I'm not sure I would have ever tried to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was AMAZING! I only did one tablespoon of soy sauce, because I only like a hint of it and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Did not taste like the egg drop I'm used to in my area. Next time would omit the soy sauce and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Have made several times. Reminds me more of hot & sour than traditional egg drop, but I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
The vinegar and soy sauce was overwhelming I would half the vinegar and use rice vinegar, then add the soy sauce as desired. Salty and sour as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very tasty & easy to make. Gave it only 4 stars cuz I modified recipe. Used 6 C low sodium fat-free chicken broth and low sodium soy sauce as recommended by another reviewer. I used rice vinegar in place of white vinegar, and 2 green onions, with more for garnish. This is rich & eggy. You could cut the eggs down if you like it more brothy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Bussman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I love this soup. I think it will become a lunchtime staple for me and it's so low calorie! I started out using some of the adaptations suggested in the reviews, mainly cutting down the amount of vinegar. I am not a vinegar lover, and I used cider vinegar because it is all I had. Originally I used 1 tbsp. of soy sauce and 1 tbsp of cider vinegar. I later added the extra tbsp. of soy because it needed it. The soup was very salty, so I added another 3/4 cup of water. It was still very salty so I added more cider vinegar until I felt it tasted very good. If you don't want the soup to be overly salty DON'T BE AFRAID OF VINEGAR. The vinegar helps cut through the saltiness of the bouillion and soy sauce and I thought the cider vinegar added a nice balance to the soup. I ended up using 2 1/2 tbsp of cider vinegar to balance out the other flavors in the soup, almost as much as the recipe originally called for. I think the other 1/2 tbsp. would have added, I just don't like vinegar. As a finishing touch I also added a pinch of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This one is great! It was my first time making the soup. The only thing I might change is a touch less soy sauce and a bit more cornstarch. I added some shredded carrot too. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessa Gregier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The combination of bouillon and soy sauce makes this too salty. Next time I'll make it with some real chicken broth. Otherwise this was an awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States