Chi Chi's Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I love this recipe. I have made it several times and it turns out great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Great recipe, just like ChiChis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Derickson Jambois

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I substituted creamed corn and left out the water and it came out great! If you are looking for a more firm consistency, this isn't the recipe for you; this is supposed to be scoopable, so it will be much softer. Very tasty, I used it as a dessert! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Excellent! Just like Chi-chi's--only better because it's homemade. I make this as a side dish any time I'm making a Tex-Mex maindish. Always gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Ohio, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!!! My husband requests this whenever I make mexican themed meals. I always double it & it still fits into 1 8" square pan. Since I couldn't find the masa harina corn flour, I substitute with cornmeal & it turns out just the same. When I bring this to potlucks, I transfer into my slow cooker & it's one of the first things gone. I haven't tried the creamed corn yet. My favorite frozen so far is Green Giant Extra Sweet Niblets Corn. One 1 lb. bag for a double batch. You gotta add this as a side to your Mexican meals!!! Yum!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pilz Leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
VERY, VERY GOOD! You'll wan't to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This recipe is AWESOME. I have made it twice--the first time I made it, I used a can of creamed corn instead of the frozen corn. It still came out really good, it was just very very very moist, almost wet. My boyfriend suggested that the next time I try the frozen corn. (Of course I was trying to save time on the food processor step!!) So when I made it with the frozen corn, the batter seemed almost too dry to me. I opened a can of creamed corn and added maybe two or three tablespoons....and it turned out PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
OMG I just made this tonight for my mexican themed dinner fiesta and wow! My husband ate more than half the pan! I used to LOVE these suckers at Chi Chi's but unfortunately some bad onions ruined the whole franchise. Anyways, I did make a few changes to the recipe that made it super good. I used 1 cup of creamed corn and 1/2 cup of whole kernel corn (from the can). I didn't put it in the food proessor. I also used Jiffy cornbread mix instead of the mexican cornflour and cornmeal. It turned out perfect! My husband can't wait till I make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
Very tasty recipe! Great for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lookitsnatasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I loved this! I had craved this for years and had no idea how to make it. I'm so happy right now! THANK you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States