Chi Chi's Corn Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I have eaten this hundreds of times at Annie's Santa Fe in KC. It closed years ago. I use a whole can of creamed corn, half the butter and no water in the batter. Then put other half of butter, melted, on the top before baking. Two small scoops on any platter your serving.... also great with sugared berries as an ending to your meal. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Just like the original served at Chi Chi's! Every time I make it I get rave reviews. And I always double the recipe. This recipe makes a small quantity...or maybe bc Everyone goes back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this!! I doubled and used canned corn (it was on sale and is the ONLY canned veg i buy) I drained the whole kernel corn and used half cream style corn, which i did not drain. I used less sugar then to account for the sweetness of the cream corn. Delicious stuff, I could eat it every day! (but I don't!!) yummy yummy yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I was under some pressure with this one, because my wife loved the Chi-Chi's corn cakes. This recipe delivered. She likes this one as well as Chi's-Chi's version. Easy to make, and it makes my wife happy - it's going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dartsnbeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Used a full can of creamed corn in lieu of whole kernel corn and didn't use the food processor. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this the other night for our Tex Mex themed dinner. This is absolutely the best! Sweet moist and so easy! I used jiffy corn mix, a small can of corn and a small can of cream corn. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by One Hot Dish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I don't have a roasting pan so I used an oven proof deep skillet. Also forgot to cover with foil and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So I kindof thought I was making a very soft corn bread. Not so much. While it was a very interesting, and quite yummy treat (read:dessert item) it was NOT a corn bread. Just FYI for the northerners out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States